We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse

Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse
26 New Orleans Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 341-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: William Hilton Parkway
Swansea, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant in HH. If your are looking for the upscale chain steakhouse--this is not it. That said, the food is very good, cooked properly and you have many choices. Not a steak fan--try the fish as there are multiple options. This is pricier than the steakhouses that have 1000 locations but worth it. The service was great but not over the top. Would we come back--absolutely and only say it when we (my wife and I) mean it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We ate here once and I have to say although this restaurant looks adorable from the outside, the food is very so-so for the price. My husband had the prime rib and I had a steak, both nothing out of the ordinary. There are much better restaurants for the price on HHI, just look at the reviews on TA. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

They serve only USDA prime steaks and boy were they delicious! Everyone in our group had a fantastic meal! I had the filet mignon with blue cheese sauce and I can't wait to go back for another round. Deeeelicious!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Knockout steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great evening spent at Crane Tavern. Good sized menu, all sounded delicious. I had French onion soup, which wasn't in the traditional style, but was delicious nonetheless, followed by seared tuna. The tuna was really good quality and the honey soy veg excellent, was unmoved by wasabi sauce, prefer normal wasabi. I tasted the rib eye steak, which was unbelievable. Wines were great, but cocktails were hit and miss. Dessert was fantastic, massive portion of delightful cheesecake. The lady serving was warm and genuine, knew her menu and drinks and took.good care of us. Would go back on a return, eat steak and drink red wine. Hope to do so soon. Cheers

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had not gone here before because of mediocre word-of-mouth comments from some locals, so we didn't. However, we always liked the looks from the outside, so we decided to give it a try. And we are glad we did. There was four of us, and everyone had an excellent meal. Dianne provided the excellent service to make it a very enjoyable evening out. We have been living on the island for three year, and admittedly, the commets we had heard were from when we first moved down here. Things can change.......sometimes for the good!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.