We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knockout steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse

Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse
26 New Orleans Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 341-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: William Hilton Parkway
Copthorne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Knockout steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great evening spent at Crane Tavern. Good sized menu, all sounded delicious. I had French onion soup, which wasn't in the traditional style, but was delicious nonetheless, followed by seared tuna. The tuna was really good quality and the honey soy veg excellent, was unmoved by wasabi sauce, prefer normal wasabi. I tasted the rib eye steak, which was unbelievable. Wines were great, but cocktails were hit and miss. Dessert was fantastic, massive portion of delightful cheesecake. The lady serving was warm and genuine, knew her menu and drinks and took.good care of us. Would go back on a return, eat steak and drink red wine. Hope to do so soon. Cheers

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had not gone here before because of mediocre word-of-mouth comments from some locals, so we didn't. However, we always liked the looks from the outside, so we decided to give it a try. And we are glad we did. There was four of us, and everyone had an excellent meal. Dianne provided the excellent service to make it a very enjoyable evening out. We have been living on the island for three year, and admittedly, the commets we had heard were from when we first moved down here. Things can change.......sometimes for the good!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMAUS, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had never been and decided to stop in to eat at the bar. We were asked what we would like we asked for wine and menus. We received our wine promptly, however after asking to order several times and after 45 min we asked for a table. We sat down and told the waitress we didn't need menus we knew what we wanted and told her burgers. We were told no bar food at the tables. My husband went to the manager and explained we had waited at the bar too long and that's why we asked for the table. Nope can't have burgers at the tables. This place was not full and is a relatively small place. So back to the bar we go. By now the rest of the customers see what has been happening. We are all locals and everyone was disappointed for us.
Skip this place too many other appreciative employees and restaurants with great food in this town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went for the early bird special, included a glass of wine& prime rib, for a reasonable price. Well decorated, and clean. THe highlight was the exceptional service we received from Diane. She was very attentive and ensured we had a great time. The prime rib was very good, perfectly cooked, only issue was that it was fatty & portion could have been bigger. The child menu had lots of items, but daughter loved the chicken fingers, which were made from breast meat. We had the bread pudding which was well worth it, it tasted more like banana bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Food was outstanding and service top shelf. And restaurant had very nice atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.