We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sticky like all pancake houses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IHOP

IHOP
439 William Hilton Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29926
(843) 681-7733
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
NYS
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“sticky like all pancake houses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The breakfast was good (I got a spinach & green onion omelet, two pancakes & OJ). The omelet was very large and I brought half home and warmed it the next morning for b'fast. My husband had one fried egg, hash browns, one sausage, one pancake, one strip of bacon & one piece of ham and said they were all good. We are used to real maple syrup so of course their syrup was not up to par but good anyway. The price was good but like I said it seemed 'sticky' in there (table top, chair backs, booths, ketchup bottle, syrup dispensers, etc...........

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    10
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Good Food. Good Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We got here a little early, and beat the crowd (which really showed up as we were ready to leave later). The staff were polite and nice. The food was well prepared, and very tasty. They made adjustments for my wife's preferences to her food, and everything came out great.

The menu had changed since the last time I'd been at an iHOP, but I got one of my favorites: the Country Omelet. It was delicious, but too much for me to eat! The rest of the family enjoyed their food as well (eggs, hashbrowns, toast, etc). The only food related complaint would be that the hashbrowns were not cooked enough for us. Other than that, I felt stuffed and satisfied.

I would recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,374 reviews 1,374 reviews
913 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
2,620 helpful votes 2,620 helpful votes
“a very special whole-wheat pancake with nuts that we just cannot find anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a difference a day makes!
Yesterday @ 10:30, the plane was being de-iced in Dayton, OH!

Today, Starbucks French Ground coffee on the deck with Sun, ocean, 64 degrees at Hilton Head Island with zero percent chance of rain and snow.

My wife suggests a pancake breakfast, and although there are several “nice” Hilton Head Pancake houses, we elect IHOP!

IHOP has a very special whole-wheat pancake with nuts that we just cannot find anywhere.

We depart Marriott’s SurfWatch, drive east three miles, and enjoy the service and the whole-wheat pancake with nuts. We have always enjoyed GREAT service at IHOP. I am amazed at the speed and attention of the servers. The servers earn 20% tip!

We are NOT fans of a pancake "dressed up" to serve as a dessert.

There shall be plenty of time for the great local restaurants of Hilton Head Island this week.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having had alot to do in the food industry....I rate service right up there with the food! It is very much a part of the dining experience! The breakfast we had was delicious, but we could tell our server was just doing her job and really did not want to be there. She would have gotten a much better tip if she would have been smiling, helpful, and just plain friendly!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible go to Bluffton, SC IHOP”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Waitress was rude and food was cold and could never find her when we needed help, ie: silverware napkins etc. horrible experience, but love IHOP. Just Hilton head IHOP needs some serious help and training.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IHOP also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to IHOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IHOP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.