We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here for breakfast when visiting Hilton Head” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe

Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe
86 Helmsman Way Ste 302, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843 686 3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 322 restaurants in Hilton Head
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go here for breakfast when visiting Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Their breakfast specials are wonderful. Love their stuffed french toast! Located near Palmetto Bay Marina.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    191
    76
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great, fast, inexpensive breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a great breakfast spot in HHI. A bit out of the way depending on where you are staying, but worth the drive. The omelets are made fresh to order, the hashbrowns are great and not greasy. This is nothing fancy, just great, fresh food served quickly. A great start to the day if you want a fast and tasty meal so you can rush to the beach. Service is always very fast and friendly, and seems like you see a lot of the same faces. I think (but am not sure) that the owner is often there helping out; either that or a very efficient and professional manager. Great spot!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

No trip to Hilton Head would be complete without a visit to the Palmetto Bay Sunrise Cafe for breakfast . . . any time of the day! You know you are in a local favorite when you walk in. The servers make you feel like family. Many of them have worked there for years. In winter, you can sit outside under the heat lamps with blankets for each seat. We always do that and linger a long time, reading the paper and eating the best omlette I have ever had, with a side of stuffed french toast to share.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cold outside but great with the heaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was in the forties this morning and we could not wait for an inside seat. With 7, we were seated quickly as others waited. The cafe had heaters running and blankets for every one. We were served drinks shortly and considered the specials. We selected a number of different items; crab Benedict's, breakfast burrito, the Estrada, eggs with bacon, etc. All was good.

The service was prompt and very friendly. Not a single problem. A couple of folks ordered the large mimosas and they were huge.

Plenty of food, well prepared and timely. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you are looking for a great breakfast this is it. This is a must for my husband and I when we first arrive on the island. Great food - their Thursday special is delicious. It is eggs benedict country style using biscuits and sausage gravy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.