We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in the Sea Pines area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truffles Cafe Sea Pines

Truffles Cafe Sea Pines
71 Lighthouse Road, Sea Pines Center, Hilton Head, SC 29928-7216
8436716136
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Casual cafe dining in a friendly and relaxed upscale atmosphere.We prepare everything on our menu from scratch daily using the freshest and finest of everything.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very good food in the Sea Pines area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I decided to dine at the Truffles in Sea Pines, Hilton Head Island, on a Saturday evening in the middle of March 2014. We had made reservations online (Open Table) and our table was set and ready for us when we arrived right on time. Our server, Alec, was prompt, polite, and attentive. We ordered our entrees (mango salmon and shrimp pasta alfredo) soon after the drink course, and included a house salad (she) and a tomato dill bisque (he). Both of the soup/salad course items were very good; the house salad dressing was unique in our experience and especially good, a blue cheese vinaigrette. The mango salmon was outstanding – succulent salmon, grilled perfectly, complemented by a mango/pineapple chutney and buttermilk mashed potatoes – just great! The shrimp alfredo was good but would have been excellent had the alfredo recipe not included bacon – I love bacon, but it is flavorful and overpowers a dish that should magnify delicate flavors like fresh grilled shrimp – this was more like bacon pasta alfredo with a few shrimp for decoration. Our meal, including a glass of wine, the soup/salad course, the two entrees and a generous tip for our server came to a little over $75.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    108
    24
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton He
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solid Plus Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We have repeatedly found Truffles/Sea Pines to have very attentive professional servers, the food has always been very good to great, and the atmosphere is very comfortable--i.e.not loud and not quiet as a church. We can always count on outing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a hidden gem which we found from Open Table. We ate here twice because the first time was so good. Had Brunch items on Sat & Sun. Great food for the money. Pimento Cheese with bacon & jam & apple slaw, Javero Rancheros, sweet potato fries, taco wrap. All outstanding & good service. Plus the shops in this tucked-away mall are great.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Upscale restaurant reasonably priced food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Portobello sandwich was good, but the sliced mushroom pieces and cheesy sauce made it a bit messy. I would have preferred a whole mushroom cap. Prices at lunch were $10 to $15...very reasonable for Hilton Head. They do not have unflavored tea...a real disappointment for me. Others were pleased with their lunches. However a order for hot tea was filled with fruit flavored tea and no choice of tea bags. We were off season, during a rain storm with an inexperienced waiter. Would like to retry on season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ribs as good as in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us for the ribs and we were not disappointed. They were fall-off-the-bone tender with a delicious sauce. Great service as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truffles Cafe Sea Pines also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Truffles Cafe Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truffles Cafe Sea Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.