We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free pizza! Thank you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
33 Office Park Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 686-2474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 322 restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gluten free pizza! Thank you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were there 30 minutes before closing and they were more than happy to serve us. The drinks were good and so was the pizza. We had both a gluten free and regular and both were great. The outdoor seating was great until people started smoking right outside the fence.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    135
    109
    46
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benton, KY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Different but not to special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

You have to go wanting either something on flat bread or a sandwich. Not to much variety on the menu. It was a nice change of pace, but if we were finicky eaters we may have left for somewhere else. The food was good. Once we made a choice. The portions were good. The service seemed more interested in talking to each other. Probably wouldn't go back unless I had a hankering for some nostalgic, new age hippy food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crbrown0517, General Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
This is the General Manager at Mellow Mushroom. We have a 5 page menu, also we are doing a Thai Promotion that has some new items on it. We do not offer flatbread pizza, but you can choose from 19 specialty pizzas or you can build your own pizza from the 50 toppings we offer. Plenty of appetizers and salads. You can even build your own salad. Since when is pepperoni pizza new age hippy food...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, great service, lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best pizza on the island. Friendliest staff you could ever ask for. Huge beer selection and karaoke night is a blast!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pizza and service excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The pizza and service was excellent. The only issue was one person in party ordered wings first and then his sandwich and he got the sandwich first. But all in all it was a very good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Bit Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Friday night wait was about 25 minutes which was expected. Our waitress was attentive, helpful and pleasant. Our pizza was good and similar to what we've come to expect at Mellow Mushrooms elsewhere. My chef salad was tasty enough even with the lite dressing I had with it. What knocked this one down a notch was the nearly 45 minutes it took to receive our pizzas plus a slight mix-up with our order although they "made it right with us".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.