We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Note: Diner only takes cash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harold's Diner

Harold's Diner
641 William Hilton Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 842-9292
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Note: Diner only takes cash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Don't get caught at check out with only a credit card.... Harold's only takes cash.

Harold's is one of our regular eating spots for either breakfast or lunch whenever we visit HHI. Since it is pretty busy and a fairly small eatery, we usually take it to go.

We have had success with all the breakfast foods, but have only tried the hamburgers for lunch. Usually they are very tastey. We just finished lunch this trip and the cook was a little heavy handed with the Season Salt. I couldn't finish mine. It wasn't our best meal there but it wasn't bad enough to dissuade us from giving them another chance during out next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    73
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Verbal abuse..!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are into verbal abuse it's fun.. I didn't get it until I was about to leave.. :-)
The food is okay.. Nothing special.. But it's a fun experience to go there for a visit to see a true original diner in the US..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unique diner on Hilton Head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went to harolds twice. Once for breakfast and the other for lunch. On my first visit there, I got an omelet which was very good. When I went there for lunch, I got the steak sandwich which was nice but way too much cheese. The prices are reasonable but be aware that this diner only takes cash! The diner has a very upbeat atmosphere which is unlike anything I've ever experienced, which was good for me as I'm not from America. The employees have a sense of humor that is sarcastic and somewhat rude yet their funny. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An excellent burger with a side order of verbal abuse! All good fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Terrific burger and good fun with the banter. Note to the rookies (like us) get a menu from the rack when you first walk in and fill out one per person.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by Harold's for breakfast today and wish we would have tried it sooner. Egg sandwich and biscuits and gravy both good and very reasonable The atmosphere and unique service was a home run with my teenage son. Must have a good sense of humor and go for the fun of it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's Diner also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Harold's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harold's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.