We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catch 22

Catch 22
37 New Orleans Rd., Hilton Head, SC 29928
843 785-6261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant because it was close to our hotel and they had a great early-bird special. It turned out to be the best restaurant in Hilton Head as far as we were concerned. I wish we had discovered it earlier. The early-bird menu was extensive and the wine was a real bargain.....and good. The service was excellent. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived, but it filled up quickly after that....which to us was a sign that the locals thought it was a good place to eat at any time of the evening. I would definitely go back to Catch 22 again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    76
    27
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great meal on the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I have a time share in Hilton Head, SC. We are always looking for new places to dine and we wanted a good local and non-touristy place. We found Catch 22 and we were thrilled. The restaurant sits right on the bay and has a dock with a few fishing boats adding to the ambiance of the setting. The restaurant is locally owned by two couples.

The menu features wonderful seafood and hand cut steaks which are apparently aged on site. The food is a bit pricey but the very cheerful wait staff made up for that. My wife had beef and I had seafood and the meal was delicious. Drinks were also a bit pricey but overall we were very pleased with our experience.

We liked the fact that there seemed to be more locals there than tourists. And while we are "not locals" we do like to find places where the locals eat and you don't have to put up with a long wait or screaming kids in the typical restaurants on the Island.

Overall, a very good experience and we will go back next year when we return for our annual trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best meal while on Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went to Catch 22 the last night we were on Hilton Head. The restaurant is tucked into a little strip center on New Orleans Road, not far off of Pope. Am thrilled we decided to check them out as it was the best meal we had on Hilton Head, by far. The atmosphere was comfortable and the area was clean. Service was very good and friendly. Nice wine list.

We had the Mixed Grill (steak, duck & deviled lobster) and the Ahi Tuna. Every bite was wonderful, even down to the cooked spinach. We even had desert, which was good as well - key lime pie & Italian Creme Cake.

I would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our first time dining here. We had a coupon which we found in the local paper. Three of us had steak one had a seafood dish. All four meals were outstanding. Good service. One of our friends who is a very picky eater commented it was one of the best meals on the island, and we've been going there for years. We will make this a regular stop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chef Brian rocks it every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been to Catch22 several times and i just noticed it was not early as high on the charts as it should be on TA..have to admit i am not a consistenten poster unless something is out of this world, every time, and this place is. The ambiance is friendly, romantic, and could even be family oriented..there are 3 distinct areas to sit and each has a little different feel! We like to sit at bar where the locals seem to take advantage of the raw bar while discussing the weather and golf handicaps ;-) We have had most of the appetizers and entrees, the one thing we have never ordered there is desert as we have always been a bit full! This is slightly off beaten path(not on Pope or 278 or near Coligny but easy enough to find)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch 22 also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Catch 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catch 22, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.