We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seafood and breakfast buffets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carolina Cafe
2 Grasslawn Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928
(843) 681-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 321 restaurants in Hilton Head
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood and breakfast buffets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great value, great tastes. I especially loved the steamed snow crab legs and prime rib during the evening buffet. The breakfast buffet had lots of fresh fruit and a terrific omelet bar in addition to smoked fish and other wonderful items. Everything you'd want for vacation.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    21
    14
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great breakfast buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Lots of choices, french toast tho was dry. Watch they put the tip on the bill. We sat outside, they have a new deck and it wasn't crowded

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It is a buffet place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Food is good. Prices are high. Service is not so good. My wife is not a buffet person, especially on vacation. Probbably fine if you get the buffet and waiter is only relied upon to fill water glasses and clear plates.

Went once for breakfast and once for dinner. Both times ordered from menu as opposed to buffet. Had to flag down waiter for simple things like silver wear.

Mysteriously charged 18 percent gratuity at breakfast for party of 4. Let it slide because I usually tip more. Go to Oceans or eat by pool unless getting buffet.

Ponderosa grade service. No offense to ponderosa.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but not Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Decided to get the Seafood Buffet Saturday night. We made reservations and arrived at 9 PM. We were seated and greeted by one of the worst waiters I've ever had (Neal). He didn't offer us a drink menu or wine list, just asked what we'd like to drink. After taking our drink orders he only checked on us once and was not very pleasant. At one point I had to ask another waitress to refill my drink after waiting over a 1/2 hour to have him refresh it. The food was ok, kind of bland and because we came at 9, the selection was slim.
We ended up having breakfast outside here the next morning which was fresh and our waiter was fantastic (not Neal).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it! - Seafood Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have eaten here many times over the past 20+ years at HHI and it never disappoints. Great crab legs and made to order grits with several choices to accompany (bacon, cheese, lobster, craw fish, etc), great roast beef and variety of seafood served. This place is 1st class!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carolina Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.