We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab Cake in the Low country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue - CLOSED

Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue
8 Executive Park Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
8437853663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Avenue
Description: A family tradition and neighborhood favorite since 1983. Truffles Cafe is proud to offer upscale dining in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Everything on our menu is prepared daily from the freshest ingredients utilizing farm to table freshness and locally sourced products whenever possible. Enjoy favorites like our center cut filet with homemade buttermilk mashed potatoes, fresh gouper with parmesan basil glaze, our award winning fall off the bone baby back ribs or our perfectly grilled tuna napa salad. We offer a full bar and wine list featuring over 60 bottles from around the world many by the glass. Outdoor seating is available on our beautiful fully covered terrace. Enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail by the fire and watch your favorite television event on our 100 inch outdoor HD television. We look forward to serving you, your family and friends soon!
Nampa, Idaho
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cake in the Low country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ran across Truffles by accident as we took a detour to Hilton Head. Amazingly peaceful setting adjacent to an office park. Great Patio and the Citrus iced tea (unsweetened) was excellent. Crab cake is like 97% crab meet and tastes great. The Pimento Cheeseburger was cooked to perfection and even the bread served with the salads was top notch. Wine list included some nice Rioja Reeds and had we been in the area for Dinner we would have been back! The servers knew the menu and the preparations quite well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    137
    42
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PHILADELPHIA
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Toss Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have eaten at Truffes on Pope a number of times. It is obvious that the kitchen staff knows their business. Tonight, we had the Meatloaf and the Glazed Grouper. Both were prepared in the Truffes tradition - excellent. Our server, Charlotte, was new to the business. I am sure, with practice and education provided by the management, she will improve. We will certainly be back to Truffles for the food; but will look for a different server.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Good Place with a varied menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were very pleased with our dinner at Truffles. There are four of us on vacation playing golf. We were worn out after a tough windy day on the links and the relaxing atmosphere at Truffles was just what we needed. Although our server had been with the restaurant only a few weeks he knew his stuff and was very attentive even though we gave him a hard time. The ribs are REALLY AWARD WINNING!
There is a very good wine list and we found a great Malbac and Cabernet. Both bottles were special.
Take our advice and make a reservation for Truffles!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballentine, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The food was very good. The ambiance was romantic. Service was good as well. We have always dined at the original location in Sea Pines. We found this location to be as good if not better. We recommend Truffles highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good and service exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friend ate here and found service and food exceptional. My friend is gluten and dairy intolerant and they accommodated her. The spinach salad is delicious and the bread and truffle butter were good also. It is the best restaurant on the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.