We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried green tomatoes and the cafe burger are soo good!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Cafe & Pub

Main Street Cafe & Pub
1411 Main St, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-689-3999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving seafood, steaks, southern favorites and "pub fare with a creative flair" Serving ALL YOU CAN EAT CRAB LEGS AFTER 5:00 PM 6 NIGHTS A WEEK..... OPEN SUNDAYS MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND TO LABOR DAY WEENKEND
1 review
“Fried green tomatoes and the cafe burger are soo good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fried green tomatoes and cafe burger are so very good. We also loved the ranch/horseradish sauce so much we put it on everything! Cindy was our waitress with all the news about town, our menu, and best service we have had all year:) we went more than once on our vacation because we loved it (asking for Cindu evertime)!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to wrtie such a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed our place. It is always the ultimate compliment to have vacationers dine here multiple times during their trip.

Thanks again

See you next time

Faith Roppelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    175
    52
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh oysters and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We tried the place for a happy hour and we weren’t disappointed.
Our waitress, Cindy, was the best. She recommended the fried oysters and we weren’t disappointed. They were fresh and large and not greasy. Delicious! The wings were good and so were the drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Cyndi is a great server and very knowledgable. I am so glad you enjoyed the fried oysters.We do not always have oysters this time of year, so what a treat.

Thank you again

Faith E Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food was excellent and prices reasonable. The crab and fish were very fresh and the homemade potato chips were some of the best. We've been there twice and had very good experiences. Waitresses were also pleasant. I enjoyed the owner stopping by our table to see if everything was all right. She was very nice and friendly

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am totally addicted to our home made potato chips. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.


Thanks Again

Faith E Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why is this restaurant rated so highly?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped in yesterday based on the Trip Advisor reviews. I don't know where the people who gave this place such good reviews have been eating but it is not deserving of the credit it receives. I had the Fried Tilapia sandwich which had to be frozen. Fresh fish is not shaped like that. The cheese on top was a slice of processed American like you put on your kid's school lunch sandwich. Jalapeno tartar sauce? They sure hid the jalapeno flavor well. Cole slaw was soggy and totally dripping with mayo. Our server took our order then disappeared. Someone from the back brough our food and we had to flag him down for drink refills as no one ever came back to check on us. Believe the not so good reviews about this place, the glowing ones are not accurate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry that you had such a poor experience. I can only hope that while you were here you expressed your concerns to a manager and gave us an opportunity to rectify any problems you had.
Even after 14 years in business it always upsets me to here something negative. Although I realize we can not be all things to all people, I sure like to try. Thanks again



Sincerely
Faith E Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice evening out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Main Street Cafe and Pub has a great atmosphere, friendly and efficient staff, and good food with very generous portions at reasonable prices. Our server was helpful in answering our questions, making recommendations, and providing excellent service without hovering. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food as well as the service. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in.



Thanks again
Faith E Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Cafe & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.