We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our first stay at all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not our first stay at all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Aug. 15-18. Yes parking can be a challenge. But it's free. Rooms are large, clean, cold and comfortable. Great value...no an outstanding value. .how long do u spend in the room. Hincheys bar is a plus. We stay here at least 4 times a yr. Front desk staff is always pleasant. You have to treat people the same way you want to be treated. Its our go to place. Its not the Rizt...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    28
    36
    117
See reviews for
80
39
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I wish we'd have read the reviews before booking. WE DID NOT STAY HERE. We were given
a " parking pass " though there is no parking. 6 spots for the entire hotel. You have to park in the back behind a gated complex, down a deserted road. Two guys hanging out in a panel van. Not a safe place to leave your car or walk at night. After we were told to come back at 4pm, a man followed us out of the hotel to our car and asked if we were single because they had a ladies special going on at the hotel. We said no and we're not interested. He ran back inside and disappeared. The front desk had no idea who he was, so she claimed. We just had a very bad feeling about the place. The pool was closed. We went elsewhere and cancelled this one. Good thing too. When we mentioned the hotel to anyone, they knew exactly what we were talking about. We are not HHI " snobs " as someone referred to vacationers. Just normal people looking for a clean, affordable stay. We come here yearly and have always had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We didn't get that far
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

2nd time in vacation at Metropolitan Hotel, Hilton Head Island. Same like last year, very clean room, good service, excellent bar and restaurant at 1st floor. The front desk needs a little bit training. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Look, this place inst the Hilton. Not even close. The parking is terrible, the hotel is hot, and you're lucky if someone is at the front desk. But if you and some friends want an ok, cheap place to stay its really not that bad. I just did 2 nights there and it was perfectly acceptable. Its very close tot he beach, its close to Sea Pines and Harbour Town, and there's a fun little bar and restaurant in it to pass the time late at night. I honestly dont have very much to complin about. I had fun, I felt clean and there was no issue at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I travel a lot.........This was set up for a party we were having at HHI & IF I ever come back to HHI I will make my own reservations. This hotel lacks the very bare essentials. No bag service, no internet in the rooms, not eve coffee in the mornings!!!!..........You have to go to the lobby to use the internet. The A/C is noisy .............. minimal towels in the rooms. The overall condition of the property is poor. Parking is a nightmare.
If I were looking for a place to stay I would keep looking.................Don't waste your time or money at this place...................IT'S A DUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I'd like to back up some of the bad reviews first. This was not our first stay here so we kind of knew what to expect. The parking is horrible unless your lucky enough to get one of the 6 spots right at the hotel. Otherwise your parking back an alley about a block away.
I don't know why most complain about the distance from the beach. Unless your staying on the beach (which is $100-200 more), its one of the closest places to the beach.
Now, we rented a Jr suite and only had 2 towels at first - but all we had to do is ask and the staff gladly kept us up with clean towels for the week. We were told we'd have a regular fridge. Wrong - got a mini fridge.
The pool is closed indefinitely. We were told because its not handicap accessible.
The room was OK and large.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

PROS: The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. The front desk service from the man and woman was nice and friendly.
It served the purpose.
CONS: Only offered half of the amenities that they had claimed to have. There were no phones in the rooms, no wi-fi in the rooms, Pool was out of order. I never got the golf cart ride to the beach as they had offered. No maid brought towels or toiletries. The balcony was more like a LEDGE. (2 ft. wide at best). The parking was aweful. (In a dark back lot behind another hotel.)
I actually feel that this hotel should be charged with false advertisement and I plan to call the Better Business Bureau.
I got half of what they offered, so I'll take half my money back now.

Room Tip: No tip. It served the purpose if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep for $90.00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;