We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it...stay at the Comfort Inn one block up.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't do it...stay at the Comfort Inn one block up.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has six parking spaces. The rest are reserved for the hotel bar. It is close to the beach. The rooms are clean but in disrepair and are missing furniture. If you are plannkng to cook to save on restaurant expense bring EVERYTHING! The staff tries hard but don't speak English so things fall through the cracks. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    28
    36
    119
See reviews for
81
39
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McCormick, SC
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was large, adequately furnished and clean as was the bathroom with a good shower. The king size bed and pillows were just fine. The staff was friendly and hospitable. There was a coffee maker, small refrigerator, iron and board and a TV. The Wi-Fi worked fine. I thought it was strange there was not phone or clock radio but then though when was the last time I used these in a hotel anyway. A cell phone with an alarm clock, which everyone carries now days is all that's needed and not having a phone system in house is a cost saver for the hotel. No Kleenex either. The hotel is about 200 yards from the beach, which for Hilton Head accomodations is closer than most hotel/motels. I completely agree with Alexis O and skyllo reviews (except I thought the pillows were fine). The biggest factor to consider with this property is the parking situation. The hotel does not have a parking lot per sa. I has spaces down one side of the street on the side of the hotel. These space go for a couple of blocks. There is a shuttle service from the lobby to your car but when you come back after being out and have to park two blocks away in the pouring rain, you might have a problem. I have an idea though if you called the front desk they would send the shuttle (golf cart) out to give you a lift. As I said, the staff was very hospitable. So here's the decision; give up some of the usual ammenities for value or go somewhere else and pay more. My cost was $79 per night total. Given the proximity to the beach and shopping--very close to Coligny--and a ton of restaurants, Hilton Head Metro might work for you.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which side you are on. Even number room are away from the beach but the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We saw the reviews after we booked but boy we should have cancelled! This hotel should be condemned ! there is mold in the bathrooms and I woke up each morning FULL OF BUG BITES! It got to the point where I couldnt sleep so I checked out in the middle of the night. The parking is SCARY;Its far away and unlit. There are no phones and the rooms and im sure that the chair/sofa were found outside in a dumpster. Ontop of everything else the staff sucked. DONT DO IT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you expect name brand quality and glitter, this isn't the place for you. Yes, it is a bit tired and has had its share of guests that have treated the property unkindly. However, we found our room to be quite clean. We read the reviews before we booked, set an expectations and were not displeased. The proximity to the beach is awesome. The staff was friendly and courteous. If you are looking for a reasonably pricednplacemto stay, near the beach, it's a good choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was across the street from the path right to the ocean, so it was a quick 2 minute walk. The hotel is pretty old, and the pillows were awful, but the room suited us fine since we were not there very much. It saved us money, and still let us be close to a great area of Hilton Head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel. We had our 2 small dogs that are allowed there on the off season. This hotel is Old and shabby. The junior suite we had was fairly large with a kitchenette. The kitchenette was terrible. Broken cabinets, obviously original to the hotel. The microwave was scary. The bathroom was clean nut had Old pink tile. The good thing about the room was the very comfortable beds. The parking was also not great. Far away from the entrance, the hotel is right across from the beach and close to stores. We might stay there again because I was not worried about the dogs ruining anything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We used to stay at the resorts until the economy went bust. Tried this hotel about 2 yrs. Ago. It's clean, good sleeping beds and price is great. In summer parking is way in the back, but better than spending money at other hotels. Walk across street to beach and about 3 to 4 blocks from nightlife,great food and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.