We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean room, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you expect name brand quality and glitter, this isn't the place for you. Yes, it is a bit tired and has had its share of guests that have treated the property unkindly. However, we found our room to be quite clean. We read the reviews before we booked, set an expectations and were not displeased. The proximity to the beach is awesome. The staff was friendly and courteous. If you are looking for a reasonably pricednplacemto stay, near the beach, it's a good choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    28
    36
    116
See reviews for
80
38
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Proctorville, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was across the street from the path right to the ocean, so it was a quick 2 minute walk. The hotel is pretty old, and the pillows were awful, but the room suited us fine since we were not there very much. It saved us money, and still let us be close to a great area of Hilton Head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent a weekend at this hotel. We had our 2 small dogs that are allowed there on the off season. This hotel is Old and shabby. The junior suite we had was fairly large with a kitchenette. The kitchenette was terrible. Broken cabinets, obviously original to the hotel. The microwave was scary. The bathroom was clean nut had Old pink tile. The good thing about the room was the very comfortable beds. The parking was also not great. Far away from the entrance, the hotel is right across from the beach and close to stores. We might stay there again because I was not worried about the dogs ruining anything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We used to stay at the resorts until the economy went bust. Tried this hotel about 2 yrs. Ago. It's clean, good sleeping beds and price is great. In summer parking is way in the back, but better than spending money at other hotels. Walk across street to beach and about 3 to 4 blocks from nightlife,great food and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hello.
I had the nice experiance to live there for couple of months...
Well Each day was a survivel.
Don't go there!
Nobody cares about the hygiene! There was mold in each room, around the memorial day many young people came and they left big mess like - pee on the carpet (few rooms) smoke weed and brake stuff.
Nobody cleans the pool (once in the month only) , there is no circulating in this pool.
Prices are overrated - they must play you to have a vacation there - they will play you for that,that you survived during your vacation!.
No hot water (always something broken)
The manager of the hotel is rude with guests who have complains.
I was like = okey there is a people who write bad stuff for this hotel because they are probably from the surrounding hotels or just spamers.... well I'm not one of them
THIS HOTEL SUCKS !

Room Tip: If you anyway wanna play this game and you go there... well take some rooms at the highest floors (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

this place is awful. we stayed on the third floor and the entire floor including our room reaked of a mildew smell, it was hard to breathe in the room, and the bed i believe had bugs, because I woke up with bites. When i complained and did not want to stay for the remaining two nights i had paid for i received a hard time and was refused until i threatened to call the health department. I am currently waiting in the lobby for my refund because the "manager" is in a meetine even though he has taken 4 calls from the front desk about this problem. I feel i have been lied to continuously and one other thing they advertise they have wi-fi and they do not the only wi -fi available is in the lobby not the rooms.

Room Tip: do not choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself and my partner had reservation for 7/28/2012 - 7/30/12. Checked into the hotel on Friday evening. Upon entering the hotel there was an smell of old furniture. Checked in any way. The room was horrable, there was king size bed in the room that looked as if it was 30 years old. All of the appliances in the room were very outdated. The sheets felt very ichy. Although you could smell the bleach on the sheets they felt awful. The entire hotel smelled. On Saturday morning around 6:00 a.m. we were awaken by a sewage odor. We went downstairs to ask what was that smell and they said they didn't know. At this point we were feed up and asked to be refunded our money for the next night stay. Do not waste your money and time staying at this resort. The only good feature is the beach is across the street. Pay a little more and stay at the Hilton Park Inn and Suites.

Room Tip: You can not see the beach from your hotel room.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.