We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star but great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star but great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We used to stay at the resorts until the economy went bust. Tried this hotel about 2 yrs. Ago. It's clean, good sleeping beds and price is great. In summer parking is way in the back, but better than spending money at other hotels. Walk across street to beach and about 3 to 4 blocks from nightlife,great food and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    28
    36
    119
See reviews for
82
40
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mariposa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hello.
I had the nice experiance to live there for couple of months...
Well Each day was a survivel.
Don't go there!
Nobody cares about the hygiene! There was mold in each room, around the memorial day many young people came and they left big mess like - pee on the carpet (few rooms) smoke weed and brake stuff.
Nobody cleans the pool (once in the month only) , there is no circulating in this pool.
Prices are overrated - they must play you to have a vacation there - they will play you for that,that you survived during your vacation!.
No hot water (always something broken)
The manager of the hotel is rude with guests who have complains.
I was like = okey there is a people who write bad stuff for this hotel because they are probably from the surrounding hotels or just spamers.... well I'm not one of them
THIS HOTEL SUCKS !

Room Tip: If you anyway wanna play this game and you go there... well take some rooms at the highest floors (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

this place is awful. we stayed on the third floor and the entire floor including our room reaked of a mildew smell, it was hard to breathe in the room, and the bed i believe had bugs, because I woke up with bites. When i complained and did not want to stay for the remaining two nights i had paid for i received a hard time and was refused until i threatened to call the health department. I am currently waiting in the lobby for my refund because the "manager" is in a meetine even though he has taken 4 calls from the front desk about this problem. I feel i have been lied to continuously and one other thing they advertise they have wi-fi and they do not the only wi -fi available is in the lobby not the rooms.

Room Tip: do not choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself and my partner had reservation for 7/28/2012 - 7/30/12. Checked into the hotel on Friday evening. Upon entering the hotel there was an smell of old furniture. Checked in any way. The room was horrable, there was king size bed in the room that looked as if it was 30 years old. All of the appliances in the room were very outdated. The sheets felt very ichy. Although you could smell the bleach on the sheets they felt awful. The entire hotel smelled. On Saturday morning around 6:00 a.m. we were awaken by a sewage odor. We went downstairs to ask what was that smell and they said they didn't know. At this point we were feed up and asked to be refunded our money for the next night stay. Do not waste your money and time staying at this resort. The only good feature is the beach is across the street. Pay a little more and stay at the Hilton Park Inn and Suites.

Room Tip: You can not see the beach from your hotel room.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel SUCKS!!!! It might be cheap and close to the beach but it is not worth it!!! You will never have hot water!!! The girl with the scrachy voice iat the front desk is very rude!!! Pay $20.00 more and go to the Comfort Inn down the street. Very nice people there. They even gave me a discount because we were complaining about the Metropolitan!!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I just want to point out that others have said that there is no hot water.....well i have been told that a water heater is down....sounds to me like that is the excuse they tell people. We asked for towels....no new towels....at the cleaner....the pool.....dirty and had algea on the steps.....none of the furniture outside was able to be sat on because it was wrecked in some way....did i mention that this is in noooooooo way water front....u have to walk across the road and then down a path and then down another path...Its like almost a half mile....and its in the sand....totally sucked..only one lamp works so at night it ia a cave.....and the parking is laughable...good luck with that. ....i can look past alto but no hot water and ice cold water to rinse off in is unacceptable....never ever ever go to this place i cannot stress that enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay was less than great. Let's see where to start. The hot water tank broke when we came in on Friday. We left on Monday and it was never repaired. They didn't even offer or give a credit for the inconvenience of only having cold water. The stairway stank to hell with bags and bags and bags of trash lined up on the bottom floor against the wall. It stayed there for atleast 3 days and never moved. Nats and mosquitos inside the building probably from the trash. Iron with no ironing board. Dark stains in the carpet. Bathroom shower was dirty with white residue covering the tiles. Ants over the shower coming through holes in the ceiling above the shower. The tile in the shower had a bad cheap repair job with towels a totally different not even attempted to match color. Clean towels seemed scarce. The hallways stank. The pool area was unkept but the water wasn't nasty. It was just a less than great visit. Even for an $80 a night stay near the beach it was bad. Parking accomodations were sub par at best. You park along a long narrow space were lighting and space was limited the trees and bushes inthe area have outgrown and looked as if they hadn't been cared for in many seasons. The foliage will scratch your vehicle and the sap from the trees will eat your paint. I just think the staff should take more pride in the cleanliness of the facility and a hotel should have running hot water and clean towels with no bed bugs. My only positives are the food at the bar was ok and it is close to the beach. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO STAY. It was nasty just simply nasty. The only space kept clean and neat was the lobby.

Room Tip: Pick a better hotel early and be willing to pay a little more for a clean safe place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.