We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Labor day weekend experience" Pay a little more and go elsewhere.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Labor day weekend experience" Pay a little more and go elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay was less than great. Let's see where to start. The hot water tank broke when we came in on Friday. We left on Monday and it was never repaired. They didn't even offer or give a credit for the inconvenience of only having cold water. The stairway stank to hell with bags and bags and bags of trash lined up on the bottom floor against the wall. It stayed there for atleast 3 days and never moved. Nats and mosquitos inside the building probably from the trash. Iron with no ironing board. Dark stains in the carpet. Bathroom shower was dirty with white residue covering the tiles. Ants over the shower coming through holes in the ceiling above the shower. The tile in the shower had a bad cheap repair job with towels a totally different not even attempted to match color. Clean towels seemed scarce. The hallways stank. The pool area was unkept but the water wasn't nasty. It was just a less than great visit. Even for an $80 a night stay near the beach it was bad. Parking accomodations were sub par at best. You park along a long narrow space were lighting and space was limited the trees and bushes inthe area have outgrown and looked as if they hadn't been cared for in many seasons. The foliage will scratch your vehicle and the sap from the trees will eat your paint. I just think the staff should take more pride in the cleanliness of the facility and a hotel should have running hot water and clean towels with no bed bugs. My only positives are the food at the bar was ok and it is close to the beach. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO STAY. It was nasty just simply nasty. The only space kept clean and neat was the lobby.

Room Tip: Pick a better hotel early and be willing to pay a little more for a clean safe place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    28
    36
    116
See reviews for
80
38
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GUYTON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived to the hotel on Friday afternoon to find that hotel was without hot water. They had a sign on the counter stating that one of their two hot water heaters was out of service. Since it was Labor Day weekend and the chances of finding another hotel room available were slim to none, we decided to stay. At no time over the three days we had stayed there, had they got the hot water back up. The parking is at hotel is very limited. There were eight parking spots at the entrance to the hotel that have been overgrown and partially filled with mud from a recent rain. The reserved parking they had down the road wasn't much better. They had allowed foliage to overgrow into the parking spots.You parked there at rest of having the paint on your car being scratched by the foliage. The pool was small and not used much by the guest. It could of been vacuumed. The room was clean. The wallcovering and curtains were dated and worn. The television in the room had a remote control that didn't even operate it. We asked for another one from the front desk and it didn't work either. The bathroom had damaged tile in the bathtub were it appear a handicapped accessbile bar had been rippedfrom the wall and patched. The sink counter was being held up with two by fours. Housekeeping only made our beds after we requested them to. They had only left one wash cloth in the bathroom each time they they left towels. We had to request more wash clothes from the front desk. The first time we requested more towels and washclothes they said they didn't have any due to they have to take them offsite to be laundered. Also there are no telephones in the rooms either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you like cold showers, bed bugs, dirty conditions and rude customer service this the place for you. The motel is more rundown than on the picture. Absolutely nothing good about this hotel. Not good for people with kids seeking a good vacation. Just pay $20 extra a night and stay at a well know Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel 5 times. There seems to be problems. Last time a water leak and elevators were shut down. This time no hot water. Parking can be a challenge. Why do we go back? Good prices, across from beach, short walk to dining, shopping. Clean room. It's not a Westin and not $300 night. Hincheys bar restaurant is on first floor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

First they didn't give us the room we had reservations for. We asked for the family room with 2 double beds and the kitchen instead the gave us a double bed with no kitchen. So they fixed that and gave us a king bed with a kitchen and fold out sofa, which is very springy. Balcony was very small not much room. You only get wifi signal in the lobby. Its hot in the lobby, elevator, and hallways but air condition works good in room. Pool is decent, the deepest part is 5 foot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stay away from this place!! no towels, no hot water,the ac barley work, the pool is simply nasty!they lied about the hotel is on the beachfront, nothing about this place is on the beach,other families complain about bed bugs,this place is nasty! the pics on this site is twenty plus years ago, if you want to stay somewhere cheap and nasty, this is your place to be, i will never come here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This was our first family vacation together and we were looking forward to it. We had a great price and was promised very close to the beach. When we first got there, we realized that it was not beach front like we were lead to believe. Then we got into our room and there was trash in the room and the refrigerator. So we went back down to tell the front desk. In the meantime, my fiance is calling other hotels. Needless, to say they were booked. So the lady offered us an upgrade and we took it because we were really kind of stuck. So let me tell you why you SHOULD NOT stay here. The balconies are so small that you literally have to stand sideways if you want to stand outside. The ceilings are falling down. There was No hot water. This 200 steps to the beach was a joke. I have a bad leg and it was miserable walking to and from the beach. It took about 15 minutes for us to walk there and That's after you have to cross the road with traffic going by. My fiance was concerned because he knew how hard it was for me to walk so far. They do not rent bikes. You have to call another company to do that. The grocery stores are not a short walk away. There is hardly any parking for the hotel. You have to park along a side street in front of another condo. The hair dryer didn't work. There is No public place to wash clothes. If you looked up under the balconies, you could see where they were cracking. It looked like any of this could collapse any moment. They had No pots, pans or dishes to use if you wanted to cook. The list could go on and on!!!
I have traveled a lot and never seen anything like this. When they say affordable elegance, That's a laugh. A Motel 8 would be more elegant. Trust me. It is completely a joke. DO NOT GO HERE! I'm writing them a letter about how misleading and false their advertisements are. Please, if you read this, do not give them your business. The only good thing about this place is the restaurant in there. They were amazing. But That's it.
I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 26 hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.