We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Weekend Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
GUYTON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Labor Day Weekend Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived to the hotel on Friday afternoon to find that hotel was without hot water. They had a sign on the counter stating that one of their two hot water heaters was out of service. Since it was Labor Day weekend and the chances of finding another hotel room available were slim to none, we decided to stay. At no time over the three days we had stayed there, had they got the hot water back up. The parking is at hotel is very limited. There were eight parking spots at the entrance to the hotel that have been overgrown and partially filled with mud from a recent rain. The reserved parking they had down the road wasn't much better. They had allowed foliage to overgrow into the parking spots.You parked there at rest of having the paint on your car being scratched by the foliage. The pool was small and not used much by the guest. It could of been vacuumed. The room was clean. The wallcovering and curtains were dated and worn. The television in the room had a remote control that didn't even operate it. We asked for another one from the front desk and it didn't work either. The bathroom had damaged tile in the bathtub were it appear a handicapped accessbile bar had been rippedfrom the wall and patched. The sink counter was being held up with two by fours. Housekeeping only made our beds after we requested them to. They had only left one wash cloth in the bathroom each time they they left towels. We had to request more wash clothes from the front desk. The first time we requested more towels and washclothes they said they didn't have any due to they have to take them offsite to be laundered. Also there are no telephones in the rooms either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    28
    36
    120
See reviews for
83
40
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you like cold showers, bed bugs, dirty conditions and rude customer service this the place for you. The motel is more rundown than on the picture. Absolutely nothing good about this hotel. Not good for people with kids seeking a good vacation. Just pay $20 extra a night and stay at a well know Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel 5 times. There seems to be problems. Last time a water leak and elevators were shut down. This time no hot water. Parking can be a challenge. Why do we go back? Good prices, across from beach, short walk to dining, shopping. Clean room. It's not a Westin and not $300 night. Hincheys bar restaurant is on first floor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

First they didn't give us the room we had reservations for. We asked for the family room with 2 double beds and the kitchen instead the gave us a double bed with no kitchen. So they fixed that and gave us a king bed with a kitchen and fold out sofa, which is very springy. Balcony was very small not much room. You only get wifi signal in the lobby. Its hot in the lobby, elevator, and hallways but air condition works good in room. Pool is decent, the deepest part is 5 foot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stay away from this place!! no towels, no hot water,the ac barley work, the pool is simply nasty!they lied about the hotel is on the beachfront, nothing about this place is on the beach,other families complain about bed bugs,this place is nasty! the pics on this site is twenty plus years ago, if you want to stay somewhere cheap and nasty, this is your place to be, i will never come here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first family vacation together and we were looking forward to it. We had a great price and was promised very close to the beach. When we first got there, we realized that it was not beach front like we were lead to believe. Then we got into our room and there was trash in the room and the refrigerator. So we went back down to tell the front desk. In the meantime, my fiance is calling other hotels. Needless, to say they were booked. So the lady offered us an upgrade and we took it because we were really kind of stuck. So let me tell you why you SHOULD NOT stay here. The balconies are so small that you literally have to stand sideways if you want to stand outside. The ceilings are falling down. There was No hot water. This 200 steps to the beach was a joke. I have a bad leg and it was miserable walking to and from the beach. It took about 15 minutes for us to walk there and That's after you have to cross the road with traffic going by. My fiance was concerned because he knew how hard it was for me to walk so far. They do not rent bikes. You have to call another company to do that. The grocery stores are not a short walk away. There is hardly any parking for the hotel. You have to park along a side street in front of another condo. The hair dryer didn't work. There is No public place to wash clothes. If you looked up under the balconies, you could see where they were cracking. It looked like any of this could collapse any moment. They had No pots, pans or dishes to use if you wanted to cook. The list could go on and on!!!
I have traveled a lot and never seen anything like this. When they say affordable elegance, That's a laugh. A Motel 8 would be more elegant. Trust me. It is completely a joke. DO NOT GO HERE! I'm writing them a letter about how misleading and false their advertisements are. Please, if you read this, do not give them your business. The only good thing about this place is the restaurant in there. They were amazing. But That's it.
I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here because it was cheap and close to ocean .... As soon as we got there the front lady was very unhelpful and had an attitude .... Second - we walked into our room and it was burning up ... The air didn't work.. You will never have hot water - let me repeat NEVER !!!! Stay at comfort inn !!!!! Way better !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
#22 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#14 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#17 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#15 of 26 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.