We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria

La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria
13 Harbourside Ln, Shelter Cove Harbour, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-785-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Vegetarian, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Made reservations for our anniversary. Couldn't have found a better place. Everything was wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    38
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Venice by another name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

HHI regulars will remember the predecessor restaurant at this location, Little Venice, which was quite possibly the worst Italian restaurant in north America. La Fontana does nothing to reverse the curse, despite claims of Napoletano legitimacy in the kitchen. it is a low value combination of one-star quality and five-star prices. We are an Italian family with enough experience in New York, Philadelphia, Chicago, Boston, Milan, Rome and yes, Hilton Head Island, to know what really good Italian food is. There are many other better choices on the Island for food and service that won't leave you feeling like you've been completely duped by the latest issue of "Fork and Fun" menu magazine. Avoid at all costs - this place is not worth your time or dollars.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Public Relations Manager at La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are terribly sorry you were unhappy with your experience with us recently. Unfortunately, your complaints, while very important to us, were quite vague and provided no facts. We also see this is your first review on Trip Advisor, Obviously, we must have done something terribly wrong. It would be great for all if you provided some greater detail of your experience with us. Thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We just recently had dinner at La Fontana at Shelter Cove and it was very good! There were two of us - and we each got a house salad, which was very fresh with a tasty lemon vinagerette dressing, which was followed with a basket of excellent warm, crusty bread served with olive oil and the Pinot Grigio that we chose was perfect! We ordered two different individual pizzas to share and both were absolutely delicious! Wonderful crust, just the right amount of sauce, toppings and cheese! Even though they were busy and we did not have a reservation, we were seated quickly and our server was friendly and attentive! Outdoor seating is available, which is cool as the restaurant is right on the water at Shelter Cove! The only thing that I would say that is not positive is that the entertainment, who was a guy singing, was lacking to say the least, but I think he sings better than I do so there you go! As the island is getting busy, you might want to make a reservation and I am assuming that they take reservations! Great place! We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food Overlooking Shelter Cove Harbour, HHI SC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We attended an outdoor event with music by Target -- a fund raiser for deep well the other night. People were dancing singing along and having a wonderful evening complete with a beautiful sunset. We decided to have a bite to eat before returning home. LaFontana has recently been opened and enhanced with an outdoor bar and eating area. We ordered a pizza at the indoor bar area and were greeted by an old friend, Frank. We ordered a pizza based on Frank's suggestion. The dough was wonderful--slight crust on the bottom but tasty and cooked to perfection.
I would highly suggest visiting this restaurant and relaxing with an attentive wait staff serving authentic Italian food. The smell alone will draw you in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lasagna Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The first time we tried this place, we sat at the outside bar to enjoy the harbor view, but we got hungry and ordered a pizza. We're not big pizza fans, because it usually isn't very good compared to the NYC area, but It just plain smelled good and it tasted even better. Probably had the best crust of any pizza we've ever had anywhere south of NYC. So we went back last night and, with that pizza in mind, I decided to gamble on the lasagna -- which is a major mistake in this part of the world. But not here. The lasagna was unbelievably good. Far and away the best in the area. Well worth the $18.00 price. The portion was substantial and the sauce was great. The piece was perhaps three inches high, the way lasagna should be, and the stuffing was a delicious blend of meat and ricotta cheese. This was world-class lasagna, but they should have heated the plate to keep it warmer longer, especially for those of us who were sitting outside. The only thing missing was a dinner salad, and the bread was passable but nothing to write home about given the overall quality of the food here. There's been nothing like this lasagna on the island since La Famiglia closed some years ago. They need a little practive getting stuff to the table quicker, but this promises to be the best Italian restaurant on the island, perhaps even comparable eventually to Beaufort's amazing Griffin Market Restaurant. Get the lasagna!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana Waterfront Grill & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.