We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small dining room with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana
37 New Orleans Rd, Ste L, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4762
843-785-6272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.
Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Small dining room with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Michael Anthony's Cucina

A small and very nice dinning room that is quite energetic when full of dinners but one can still have a conversation. Our shrimp and pasta dish was very good. The Caesar Salads were excellent. The wine list was extensive but light on California wines. Located in a strip mall a few blocks off of Pope near the traffic circle.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    74
    47
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We decided to go here for our last dinner in Hilton Head hoping to save the best for last. We were not disappointed. The service was impeccable and they did something I've never seen before. They swapped out my white napkin for a black napkin as I was wearing dark clothing. I've eaten at many restaurants around the world and that was a first for me. The wine list was huge with a great selection.

I had the meatballs for a starter followed by the special that evening a stuffed proscuitto wrapped Berkshire pork loin. Dessert was their dessert sampler. The pork was delicious and perfectly cooked with the prosciutto it was wrapped in crispy without being burned. This main dish was the best I had in Hilton Head and perhaps the best I've had in some time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had the good fortune to dine last week at Michael Anthony's. By far one of the best meal - Italian - or otherwise that I have had in a while, and that's saying a lot being from New Orleans. From the appetizers to the mains, the food was excellent. The roast chicken I had was perfect. The pasta with shrimp that my wife had was also great. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable both about the food and the wines we enjoyed.
I highly recommend Michael Anthony's to anyone who wants a great meal while in the Hilton Head area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at Michael Anthony's with friends last night. Everything was great - food, service and atmosphere. We spent the dinner saying to each other - "You've got to try this!". It was that good. Waiter was very friendly, funny and informative. He put us some Super Tuscan wine that was really outstanding.

Jim Collett
Hilton Head Island

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good food, just not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

4 of us, golf buddies ate there recently. We were quite happy with the seafood and pastas, however two of us split a pasta dish since most restaurants now give you huge portions, we can't do a box take out since we are visiting and eating out every night so that doesn't work. The portions were too small, splitting a salad same deal so for once we were underfed. Other guys praised the food so I do recommend you go, just don't halve the meal.Bob Ross

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.