We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Son's first visit to my Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana
37 New Orleans Rd, Ste L, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4762
843-785-6272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“My Son's first visit to my Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My seattle based "foodie" son visited my Island for the first time and Michael Anthony's was my choice for his special dinner. I have been dining here since they opened 8-10 years ago and as always the food was excellent and the service outstanding. They always treat me as a new guest and that has not changes in dozens of times back. I am always afraid to write reviews for fear that the "visitors" will over run the place. BUT … they are so good they deserve the praise! Best meal on the Island by a local who has tried most of our restaurants. And it is consistently the best meal and that is a tough trick!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    75
    47
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good dining in Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After several years of eating in HH the dining experience at MA was the best- the food, service, ambiance are superior. Cant wait to do the cooking school.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place on Hilton Head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We love this place! Food and service are both wonderful. Our only recommendation is to not have a booth on the first floor. The lamp over the table will glare in your eyes for your entire meal. It takes away from any ambiance .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Michael Anthony's early bird menu hasn't changed in several months. However, what is on the menu is very good. We had an experience at our last outing which should be noted.
We had reservations for 12 people. We were served bruschetta for 8 guests and when we asked our waiter for additional for those who did not have any we were advised we would have to pay for extra. Not what we expected to hear and very disappointing considering our past experiences at this venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Memorable Meal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We returned to Michael Anthony's for another memorable meal. It has been three years since we have visited Hilton Head and this restaurant never fails to please. Tim, our head waiter, was pleasant, professional and made good suggestions. He and his colleagues were very efficient, always arriving when needed.

Our dinner began with complimentary Bruschetta topped with a tasty fresh tomato/ herb mix. Crusty Italian bread with herbs and olive oil for dipping followed.

For our first course,I had the red beet salad with balsamic vinegar, fresh mint, red onion and arugula. My husband enjoyed his Tuscan bean soup. For entrees, my salmon with a lemon butter and caper sauce was wonderful. My husband had Spaghetti with fresh lump crab, arugula and sweet baby tomatoes sautéed with white wine, garlic and extra virgin olive oil. His glass of Sangiovese was a perfect match. Desserts of Tuscan vanilla cream pudding served with fresh fruit provided the perfect finishing touch

We look forward to our next visit. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.