We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course

Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course
10 Clubhouse Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
+1 843-681-1700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 164 Activities in Hilton Head
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled along the Atlantic coastline, Port Royal Golf Club, named one of the "Top 75 U.S. Golf Resorts" by Golf Digest Magazine, is located on the northwestern point of Hilton Head Island. The Club is situated in the Port Royal Plantation along with the luxurious oceanfront Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa. In addition to being praised for its unrivaled golf experience, Port Royal Golf Club is also well-known as a world-class tennis destination. In 1997, Port Royal Golf Club was recognized as a "1997 Silver Medal Resort" by Golf Magazine for its three spectacular 18-hole golf courses; Barony, Planter's Row, and Robber's Row. Port Royal Golf Club, Oyster Reef Golf Club, Shipyard Golf Club and Palmetto Hall Plantation Club are all part of The Heritage Collection on Hilton Head Island. Owned and operated by Heritage Golf Group, a leading owner and operator of golf facilities nationwide, Port Royal Golf Club is committed to unrivaled golf and uncompromising service.
Eastern shore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Played this on the 15th of July, and it really needed some love. Bunkers in terrible condition, greens were a little burnt and on 2 of the greens was standing water. Staff was ok but no marshall to move pace of play along. Course could be really good but maybe someone new needs to come in and pay closer attention to it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review following your recent visit to Port Royal Golf Club. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve and provide a better experience to our guests. Please know that we are taking your comments into consideration. We hope that you will visit us again soon for an improved experience while playing our course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    7
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Grass and greens were in great shape for the 4 round package for $200.00.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Course Needs Attention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Played here last week and the course was in very bad shape - mostly the fairways and some of the greens. Wouldn't recommend it right now - especially not for what they charge to play it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. You are correct we have been having some struggles with Robber's Row. We had a rough trasition coupled along with a Nematode problem. We are currently doing a lot of work to improve the conditions. We did a very expensive treatment to cure the Nematode problem and we have upped the fertilizer applicatios to get things moving in the right direction. We are seeing improvements everyday and hope to be in good shape again in about a month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Golf is good at Robbers Row.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We generally play this course as a "warm up" to a week of golf on HHI and I have come to really like Robbers golf for several reasons - in perfect condition, friendly golf staff, never a pace of play issue because 2-some's are paired and the rangers are well trained to keep play moving with a smile, historic markers that encourage you to stop and appreciate the past, on course restrooms and beverage cart. However, this year the dining experience rates a 0.0 - I ordered a sandwich and chips before we played and was told they didn't have potato chips....are you serious? I was sold french fries for $3.50 instead. When the table next to me got hot dogs and chips my head nearly exploded. Gratuity is automatically added to your food bill so be watchful if you eat at the clubhouse.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Challenging course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Nice course with interesting challenges. Lovely homes to view as well. All 3 Port Royal courses are nice to play.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Royal Golf Club - Robber's Row Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.