We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar

Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar
841 William Hilton Parkway, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-681-3474
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Everything is amazing, personally I recommend the tartare and the wedge. Though, the server forgot my mom's salad, but that's a tiny complaint. Also, it's a bit pricy but worth it's the value.
Happy eating,
The little chef: 11 y.o critic.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    27
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

After months of being curious about the Lucky Rooster, we finally gave it a try. Since that time it's been one of our favorite restaurants. We've been several times now. The most recent time was for my wife's birthday. The personal attention was remarkable. This, in addition to exceptional food, resulted in a fabulous experience. The variety and quality of food is quite special. If you can't pick between the offerings, try the burger. It's always on the menu and can't be beat. Enjoy the unique experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Hits and misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Four of us went here on a sunday night. The restaurant was surprisingly full, as was the bar, which is usually a good sign of things to come. Service at first was attentive. We ordered wine by the glass which was a generous pour. Fried green tomato appetizer was a large portion and tasted good, although anyone who doesn't like pimento cheese should avoid it. A wedge salad was good. Then things went down hill. It took at least a half hour to get our entrees after we finished the appetizer and salad and since two of us only ordered entrees we were quite hungry. Three of us ordered the filet mignon - a 6 oz cut with mashed potatoes and sauteed wild mushrooms in a red wine sauce. Delicious. But the 4th person ordered chicken and had to send it back because it was so dry. He opted not to reorder anything, and neither the server nor manager made an effort to bring him anything else. They did not charge for the chicken, but they also did not try very hard to see if they could bring him something satisfying. We were celebrating a belated birthday for one person. The restaurant stamped these words on the butcher block paper covering the table but at the end of the dinner when they asked if we wanted dessert, I pointed to the birthday celebration reminder and the server just said "oh yeah, we'll bring her something if you want". We didn't order anything because, again, they didn't seem to care. Overall, hits and misses. Food potentially very good, but service needs improvement.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss the opportunity to dine here & don't skip dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Let me just start by saying that the peanut butter ice cream with toasted marshmallow topping and potato chips is unbelievable!
Four of us decided to celebrate the end of our week at Hilton Head and spent the afternoon poring over reviews on Trip Advisor. We were excited when we stumbled upon this amazing farm to table restaurant and snagged an 8:30 reservation. Dinner was AMAZING! We had the foie gras brulee (a tad salty, crostini a bit too butter-heavy), fried green tomatoes, shrimp & calamari, crab cakes, filet mignon, roast chicken, and fish with wonderfully smoky-flavored shrimp and corn.
The service was fast--almost too fast--our waiter had a table of 15 and was considerate enough to tell us that, if we could make our selections quickly, he could get our order in before theirs. It was evident that he was under pressure--but he took good care of us and got our meals to us quickly.
Lucky Rooster is where we'll be celebrating our vacation's end for years to come!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were seated immediately (thanks to a reservation) but only had water and an appetizer after 45 minutes. Our drink order was never filled and our dinner order was never taken. The waiter was not attentive at all. We complained to the host and asked for the check and to cancel our drink order. They comped the appetizer but ultimately we left and went to another restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Rooster Kitchen + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.