We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and out of the way place; great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
43 Jenkins Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
843-689-6744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small and out of the way place; great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We went for the brunch after church since we were in the area. They mostly take reservations for brunch, but they had room for us at the last available table. The quiche of the day (crab and red pepper) was perfectly prepared and not dry, with a very good crust. The Crab Cakes Benedict were equally fresh and tasty--mostly crab and not binder. You won't be disappointed in the food, but the restaurant is small and well known, so you may want to reserve ahead.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    59
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We were staying the RV park and decided to eat here the first night since it was close. It was so good we went back again for our anniversary. It was even better. I always took part of my dinner home as there was so food. Great for lunch the next day if my husband hadn't already eaten it for breakfast. I wish we were there for the Sunday brunch which I'm sure would be great.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp and Grits!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Book early and request a table by the window. The Shrimp and Grits are exceptional!! The restaurant is small and not that easy to find, but it is worth the effort!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You won't believe what's above a laundry mat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Great dinner, fun atmosphere. Get a window seat and look out at the marina. Cajun fried oysters, duck with shrimp and grits were great. Make a reservation or you won't get in. Well worth it

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A legend in Hilton Head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Located in a high end $$$$$ motor coach park. It's to die for. Sorry for the preposition at the end of the sentence. Try the shrimp and grits or the Sunday brunch. Make reservations as it might be tough getting in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.