We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shack

Sea Shack
6 Executive Park Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4741
843-785-2464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
hilton head
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just ok........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wife and I went there for lunch. Oyster po-boy and grilled grouper, both with 2 sides and a drink........$26. For that price there are a lot of better options. Fries cooked in old oil, slaw was canned, sandwhiches not bad but nothing remarkable........

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    248
    114
    52
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Wont be back"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I want to start by saying the seafood is good but a little pricey for eating in a dingy shack on disposable plates. As a local I was hoping it would be a better experience going in the "off season" but was the same with only a few customers there. We arrived 30 minutes before they close in the afternoon for 2 hours and the staff seemed a little annoyed when we walked in as they were starting to sweep and clean around the tables and us. Keep in mind our fried shrimp,fries and coleslaw were ready and served in about 6 minutes. During this time a few other people walked in and were told "we are closed". We rushed through our food and left before the 3:00 closing time.
As we were getting into the car the staff was already out front with cigarettes. So for us the experience was not worth $36.00!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Fish Fresh Enough to Slap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fancy, dancy it's not, but there's plenty of other choices around the area for that, and at many of them the food's not half as good. This place is essentially a Lowcountry dive - one big room with the kitchen in half and a number of tables scattered around the other half. Review the menu on the wall, order up, pay your bill and wait. It works. The soups (like a she crab) are terrific - served hot and chock full of stuff from the sea. The platters (with the fish done grilled, fried or blackened) are just the right size and a good value. Don't mind the plastic plates and forks; you're at a picnic. You get enough fresh (never frozen so far as we know) fish, a few hush puppies and a couple of sides - cole slaw is always a good accompaniment plus whatever veggie they've done that day. Wash it all down with some sweet tea and you'll be in Lowcountry Heaven. We live in the area and stop in on a regular basis. Anyone just visiting should stop in at least once to get a good experience of the local (non-Gullah) cuisine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This was my first visit and I will definitely go back. The food was delicious and the prices are very reasonable. All items are available fried, grilled, or blackened. We waited in line about 15 minutes, but I'm sure the wait is much longer in the summer. My finicky teenagers were very skeptical due to the dive atmosphere, but they loved the food as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to The Sea Shack for a few years now. We visit HHI 2-3 times a year and it used to be our favorite place on the island, long lines and all. Our food was not very good in August and we thought it was just a fluke. Now back again in November, we see it just doesn't have the quality it used to have. The staff is rude and the shrimp burgers and cheese grits are bland. Seems like it has a new owner who kept the same unfriendly staff. Such a disappointment.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Shack also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.