We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bamboo Cafe

Big Bamboo Cafe
Coligny Plaza, 1 N Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
+1 8436863443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Have the ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Do not hestitate or order the half rack. Go all in! Best ribs, margaritas and happy hour. Game room for the kids and live music.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    134
    51
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little Island bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to have cocktails before our Thanksgiving dinner and we ended up hanging here for quite some time! Great Island-TIki Bar atmosphere, delicious food, very fun staff! Highly recommend! Will definitely visit again the next time we're in HH :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average meals, big value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nice island atmosphere, pleasant staff, average meals. The best reason to dine here is an incredible early bird special: soup or salad, selected full size entrees, a glass of house wine and a slice of key lime pie for $13.95. Early bird is 4:00 to 6:00. Be there but call ahead. the restaurant , like many on the island, is not always open in the winter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun place - good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

An island favorite. Good food for the price and friendly service. Try the grouper salad. Live music on Friday and if the Beagles are playing, don't miss it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The place is DIRTY! The food is mediocre, and the service is just ok to poor. Big Bamboo Management- Please hire some merry maids to clean your establishment. If the front of the house is filthy, how clean can the kitchen be? Scarey thought! We almost left but there just weren't many places open for lunch on Thanksgiving. Our waitress was angry that she had to work and she only got a good tip because we couldn't find her to get our change and we were anxious to leave it all behind.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyPhipps, Owner at Big Bamboo Cafe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to point out your experience and we would be more than happy to offer you a 50% off dinner to hopefully give you another perspective. The Big Bamboo has been serving meals daily for 17 years and the place is cleaned thoroughly everyday. Our servers are usually very friendly so we truly apologize if one was having an off day on Thanksgiving Day. We only use fresh Local Carolina Shrimp and we have won awards for various food items over the years such as our Ribs that many locals come in for regularly along with our hand pattied old fashion hamburgers & Carolina Fireballs that sell out most evenings in the season. Ask for Alex and he will organize your discount and 2 margaritas on the house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bamboo Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Bamboo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bamboo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.