We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family freindly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Pines Resort
32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Not family freindly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you have small children this is NOT the resort you want to pick. The restaurants are minimal 2 hour waits , terrible parking, the beach is 2 miles away so you have to take a trolly that is usually packed so tight you have to wait for the next, once you get to the beach you have a very long walk with all of your items and children in tow. The resort complex itself is very confusing. If you have kids they suggest you do not use their pool and go across the street to the other one. All in all just not a family friendly place. The rooms are small too. Oh and do not leave anything behind they charged me $50 to ground ship my tablet back to me. They left it on the porch in the heat and rain and now it's broke I am waiting the shipping service is calling me back AKA they won't do anything about it. everything is over priced and not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
38
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been coming to HH for 30 yrs. The new reno is beautiful but 14.00 for a pina colada and 12.00 for a pre packaged turkey sandwich...Really? The new prices for drinks and food are obscene. We will still come to the beach but we will be bringing our own food and drinks. Bring back some of the 'original' beach food, like chicken fingers and at a fair price, please! New employees are not helpful and have no personality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family has vacationed in Sea Pines for 20 yrs. It has always been a wonderful experience until this year. We visited as usual, the week of July 4th, and expected the crowds. We knew to arrive at the beach club before noon to get a parking space....well not this year! With 5 adults and 2 toddlers in tow, we arrived by 10:30 every day and could find nowhere to park...even in the overflow lot across the street. We had to drive back to a shopping center where we waited 25 minutes in the broiling sun with a 2yr old and a 1yr old for the trolley....too full to enter one day, and so full the next that we had to hold all of our equipment and the children. After finally arriving at the beach, we were dropped off at the back of the lot, again to carry all the necessary equipment with 2 toddlers all the way to the actual beach. After all this time, the children (and adults I should add) had had it. We attempted to calm them down with a small lunch.....wow....$55 later we had 4 hotdogs, a turkey sandwich (lousy) and 2waters. In past years, the beach grill was perfect ....hamburgers, chicken fingers, and quick service.....well, no more. With the new construction of a "5 star" restaurant those simple days appear gone. yes, we could have chosen the sit down menu of the new restaurant and spent twice as much, but with fussy children that did not seem a good idea.
So, it is with deep regret that my family will have to find a new resort on Hilton Head. Sea Pines has apparently chosen to cater to higher class customer than my family has been all these years

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We regret that you encountered a disappointing experience at the new Sea Pines Beach Club. During the brief transformative period of the new Beach Club’s construction we have taken several additional steps to ensure as seamless a parking situation as possible, including an additional overflow lot at Plantation Golf Club, with golf cart service, plus trolley service and increased bike parking. Thankfully, we are nearing completion on the new Sea Pines Beach Club, at which point the parking lot will be available for guests.

We trust that when the new Sea Pines Beach Club is completed, The Sea Pines Resort will be an even more attractive destination for families. In fact, several of our newly opened restaurants at the Beach Club feature kid-friendly fare, from the quick and easy service of Surfside Market to the delectable burgers and irresistible chicken fingers at Coast. We also offer a discount on dining for guests of the resort. We thank you for your 20 years visiting the resort, thank you for your patience during a transitional period of renovation, and look forward to seeing you again at the New Sea Pines Beach Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sea Pines is a fun day/evening trip. We have rented horses and also ridden our bikes all around. The lighthouse is fun to go up in for a great view. The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. We've had fun here for years. I like seeing the tabby ruins historical site. The only negative is that we went on the 4th of July and you park way far away from the beach where you watch the fireworks and shuttle buses get you to and from. The line to get back to our car after was over 90 minutes. I wouldn't watch them there again for that reason. We didn't get back to our condo until midnight.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for visiting and for enjoying so many of the amenities and activities at The Sea Pines Resort.

We recognize that our Fourth of July fireworks display is increasingly popular, which is why have endeavored to go above and beyond in ensuring an orderly, efficient and safe parking and transportation experience. Flyers distributed at the Sea Pines gate provided specific information about parking and transportation, including warnings of possible congestion and delays.
We received resoundingly positive feedback regarding the fireworks display this year, and hope that the experience you had during the show will entice you to return.

Thank you for your feedback. Please know we continually aim to exceed guest expectations and all comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son's and I were not staying at the resort but decided to pay the guest visitor to fee to view the fireworks at the Harbour Town Yacht Basin. After going through the gate we were directed to satellite parking and boarded a bus to be taken to the harbor area for the fireworks show. The bus driver informed us that we needed to ask to be dropped at parking lot one on the return bus trip. After the very mediocre fireworks display it was mass hysteria and a 90 minute wait to board a bus for the return trip to the satellite parking. We finally boarded a bus and rode to parking lot one, we were dropped off at the power line area that was the make shift parking area. It was very poorly lit with cars pulling out in all directions and no staff supervision. We walked around for about thirty minutes looking for our car and my children were nearly hit by vehicles multiple times. As they cried in fear I eventually flagged down another bus to ask for help as it was the only option that I and other lost patrons could do as there was no other help in the parking area. The driver of this bus then figured out that I was not in lot one but parked in lot two and was given wrong information from my initial bus driver. He then transported us down closer to the lot two area of the dark power line and we finally found our vehicle in what amounted to over a two hour ordeal.

As nice as this area looks they sure could do a whole lot better with the organization and logistics of this event. I'm very fortunate that my children were not injured but they made me promise we wouldn't return there again for future 4th of July's

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We sincerely regret to hear that you did not enjoy a pleasant experience on the Fourth of July. We do take great measures to make certain that parking and transportation is orderly, efficient, and safe.

In an effort to provide visitors with ample information, Sea Pines gate attendants distribute a flyer specifically regarding parking and transportation on the Fourth of July to all incoming visitors purchasing a guest pass. The flyer specifically states that due to the extreme popularity of the event there can be congestion and delays, in addition to other valuable tips.

While the event, parking, and transportation are all complimentary, large amounts of time and resources are dedicated to ensuring the success and safety of the event, including the addition of extra lighting in the satellite parking lots.

We apologize that you were given incorrect information regarding your parking lot number; we aim to eliminate all error so we regret to hear that this rare misstep occurred.

We received resoundingly positive feedback regarding the fireworks display this year, some guests saying that it was the best show ever, so we are both surprised and disappointed to hear that you were not impressed.

Thank you for your feedback. Please know we continually aim to exceed guest expectations and all comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My kids wanted to go to the letting zoo. We were rudely told we couldn't go there because we had a kayak on our van. Our room at another resort was on the 5th floor so ditching it wasn't really an option. Not willing to work with us at all. When I went to the resort office, I was told the gate was run by a different company than the people that manage the resort itself, so they couldn't do anything. Really?!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We regret that you felt you were treated rudely during your visit.

The gate is managed by Community Services Associates, which is an association of Sea Pines property owners. Neither is affiliated with resort operations. We do our best to accommodate our guests, pride ourselves on create an exemplary customer experience, and regret that you were unable to enjoy all our resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We are staying in Hilton Head and decided to go to the Harbortown/ Sea Pines resort area. Not satisfied, felt unwelcome. You pay 6$ per car plus 1$ per bike on the car. The only place we found to park was Harbortown. So we walked around there. Going up the lighthouse costs extra. Lots of water activities, all at an extra cost. NO public beach with parking anywhere. I think we could have stayed parked in Harbortown and taken a trolley to a beach. Bottom line- if you are not staying there, don't bother going there. The rest of the island is better. If you are staying there you won't have problems I guess.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We regret that your recent visit did not live up to your expectations. We have been proudly serving generations of travelers for decades, bringing back families year after year with our activities, amenities and convenient beach access at the recently renovated Sea Pines Beach Club, which offers ample parking.

Guests of the Sea Pines Resort receive complimentary guess access; however visitors are charged a fee at the gate by Community Services Associates, an association of the Sea Pines Plantation Property Owners. Neither is affiliated with The Sea Pines Resort, but we regret that you were inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Address: 32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Specialty lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.