We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, nice property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sea Pines Resort
32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service, nice property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The butlers (most appeared to be interns from European Universities) were extremely attentive (almost to the point of being annoying at times, but I'd rather they try too hard than not hard enough) and the rooms and facilities were nice. The only disappointment about the room was the tv did not get an HD signal so the picture was poor, but we were on our honeymoon and didn't watch much tv. Free loaner bikes were a nice touch, its an easy bike ride to harbour town or the beach. The butlers really push the on-site restaurants (harbour town grill, quarter-deck) and they are worth sampling, but we found lots of great restaurants off the property, on Hilton Head and Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property is very nice (typical resort), however there's a lot of traffic around it. Also the staff is variable. There were some UK interns that were outstanding. However the other interns were almost cold. About 80% of the clientele is from the metropolitan northeast/mid-atlantic (and over 60) and they bring their culture and attitude with them, so do not expect a warm charming atmosphere. The food was good, but most of the seafood was not local. There are many other places to visit in the south- coastal area if you want southern charm and courtesy, that are also less contrived, culturally sterile and manufactured. But if you are from the above mentioned regions you'll be right in your element, and likely not even know the difference.

Room Tip: Pick the golf side, otherwise you will be by a parking lot and quite loud tennis court in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing your views on your stay. We deeply apologize that you did not receive the service you were expecting. It is our goal to treat each guest to nothing less than the most remarkable experience possible, and if we failed you in that regard it is to our regret.

We are proud of the wide range of guests and staff we attract to the Inn from all points of the globe. That so many are willing to make the trip from so far speaks volumes to the Southern hospitality we extend to all of our guests.

As proud as we are of our hospitality, we are even prouder to partner with local seafood providers. There’s no finer fare to be had than right here on the Carolina coast, and that’s why we partner with Certified South Carolina and Fresh on the Menu to bring guests a unique dock-to-table experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are traveling around the country, and we carry Kayaks on our car. They will not let you enter their gated resort if you have them on top of your car! The rudest gate attendant ever said, "the members will have your car towed" if you go in here. We had a golf tee time in 30 minutes, no place to just drop them off, so we were forced to cancel the time (We also had another time for a few days later we canceled.).
We were treated so rudely, that we had to post this. Because of this stupid rule and the rude gate attendant, it cost this resort and the golf courses here at least $750; 3 rounds of golf at about $400, food, souvenirs and drinks would have been another $300-400. We happily went to another course that morning, The Golden Bear GC at Hilton Head and had a perfect experience; great staff, great value, and a very nice course.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We sincerely regret that you encountered this experience, as we pride ourselves in unparalleled and exemplary customer service at The Sea Pines Resort.

The Sea Pines Resort does not manage and operate the gate to the community; the gate is managed by the property owners association.

However, we do our utmost to ensure that all guests checking-in to The Sea Pines Resort, and enjoying the resort’s amenities and activities, encounter a seamless arrival. Guests staying at The Inn at Harbour Town, or in one of the resort’s homes and villas, receive complimentary gate passes.

We encourage all guests of The Sea Pines Resort to contact us directly should they encounter any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to HHI for about 10 years now. It took us a little trial and error to figure out the best area to stay. We feel Sea Pines has the best selection of houses and villas to rent. In December it is very relaxing and sparsely populated, which leads to no wait golf on the famous Harbourtown Links as well as the resorts other courses. Tennis, swimming, shopping, and great food also readily available within the gates. All of
our dealings with Sea Pines staff has been positive, as well as all the residences rented through them have been in perfect condition. If you want tranquility, luxury, and amazing views, look no further!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Sea Pines is a regular stop for us. We get a villa instead of a small hotel room. Lots of activities, we ride bikes on great trails. Beautiful beach, ride the horses. Great shopping, golf, tennis, and dining
Definitely a Family resort, they are now adding a new beach club and golf clubhouse.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently spent a few days in Sea Pines Resort over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The staff and accommodations were 2nd to none. The resort is beautiful and definitely 1st class in every aspect. Do yourself and your family a favor, stay at Sea Pines and you'll be forever grateful you did!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I would recommend a family vacation at Sea Pines. We spent a week on the resort only left to shop for groceries. The whole resort is accessible by bike, and really pleasant to ride around. The beach is quite wide, except during high tide, when it can feel like you are packed like a sardine next to your fellow travelers. We rented a house with a pool and would swim at the beach and then swim at the pool. We also brought kayaks and spent some time exploring the estuaries. We even saw a manatee. This is a very desirable place to stay for families.

Room Tip: We rented a house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hotel
Sea Pines Hilton Head
Address: 32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Specialty lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.