We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Sea Pines Resort
32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We have twice taken advantage of late summer deals for Sea Pines and have loved both trips. Each time we got the same condo (we specifically requested the unit we stayed in last year); we love the condo option -- you can do laundry, cook, have space to spread out, etc. Our condo has a pool, but not all have them, so,double check if that is important to you. Our deal also comes w/ bikes. It is so much fun to ride bikes at Sea Pines. The bike paths are beautiful and it's so level that you can ride for hours w/o getting tired. Sea Pines is like summer camp for families. There are so many things to do and the beach is lovely. The golfer in our family says the courses are decent. It is fun just to walk the different "neighborhoods" of Sea Pines. We don't eat many meals at the Sea Pines restaurants and when we do, we get lunch. Lunch fare is far superior to the evening food. There are so many good restaurants on Hilton Head, that you don't want to limit yourself to Sea Pines.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    17
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
53
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Great resort. Clean. Friendly staff. Surpassed my expectations. Very guest focused. They will do anything, instantly to help you. Lots to do. Great golfing close by. Bicycle rentals are excellent. Make sure you get a bike and enjoy the island riding. Definitely will come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I rated 3's for cleanliness and service because at the time of our visit there were renovations in progress, would have been nice to know before we came but wouldn't have changed our plans. Since we had been here before I feel confident in saying whatever they are doing will be beautiful once complete. If you're coming rent bikes, you can get around so much easier and its always a pretty ride. The beaches are great and this time of year so quiet but the weather was still warm enough to enjoy being on the beach. My kids loved the stables and the little petting zoo (bring quarters for food for the animals). Harbor Town has a great playground, nice shopping area and several restaurants to choose from. We rented a home with a pool, definitely worth it to heat the pool. We don't participate in golf or tennis so I can't rate those options but the golf course is beautiful (we saw a few gators) I loved it when we were here last year and this trip was just as great, we will keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Kisco, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife an I and now our family have been vacationing at Sea Pines since our honeymoon in 1975. Both our children experienced a right of passage of hitting the beach before they reached their first year. We have visited the resort a minimum of every other year since our first trip in 75. Have things on the Island and Resort changed, of course they have. It is no longer the sleepy little Island with quiet evenings. Some changes are good and some not so good. Oftentimes we think back to a place that we once were fond of and build it up so much in our mind's eye that we can't help but be disappointed on a return visit.
That said, I can only continue to praise this Resort for its consistency. When a Resort exists for as long as Sea Pines has some freshening up is always required. This Resort over the years has not been remiss in facing that challenge head on. This year two major projects were underway at the Beach Club and Golf Clubhouse for the Ocean and Heron Pointe Courses. While there were inconveniences, the end result will be spectacular. You can make improvements and please everyone. The entire staff that I dealt with this year were terrific, kudos to all of them from the reservation desk, (Cindy) to the hospitality manager (John Munrow) The combined efforts of these individuals made for an utterly enjoyable Vacation. So much so that at the end of our two weeks we looks at each other and without hesitation said "Let's do this again next year".
This is a beautiful place to visit the beach is terrific, the accommodations are beautifully appointed and if a problem arises it is addressed quickly to your satisfaction, not theirs. If you have never been here give it a try and see why so many people like myself continue to return. If you are a repeat visitor and question a return don't be swayed by any negative comments, Yes the Resort is changing, but that change is for the better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After 44 years of vacationing here you would think that I had enough .The problem is,most people coming here will never experience the way it was .Here is a scenario ,your husband comes home the wife says let's take the kids to Sea Pines this year .Sounds nice ,the glossy pictures and internet photos promise paradise for everyone ,but does it deliver ,hardly .If you come here to play golf you will have fun at a price ,likewise for tennis ,if you bike also .But if you do all those things you can do it anywhere inland ,why go to a resort on the ocean.Well you go through the gate with a tag you just paid $15 a week ,if you have guests coming also $15 .You decide to spend an afternoon at the beach .They advertise 12 miles of beautiful beaches ,and they exist but not for the tourist .There is South Beach a quiet stretch of beach with a few access paths between homes to the beach ,but where do you park ?The signs telling you what they will do to you exist and the mean and I mean well spoken mean security let you know what will happen to you if they haven't towed your car.The second beach at the tower is for the residents ,however in Sept or Oct a time for pleasant beach weather ,the lot is empty that doesn't mean you can park there ,even if an owner told you you could because it's empty .As I found out ,this was securities highlight of the day giving me a strict warning .So wait a minute you just spent $2-$4000 a week and you're looking for some waves and sand .Oh it's the Beach Club a small very crowded area about 50 yards of beach ,decent parking ,bathrooms ,a hamburg place and a bar .Now you can look up and down and see part of the 12 mile beach but can you walk that far and back with beach chairs ,umbrellas towing your kids ,a helicopter dropping you off would be nice,I would guess no ,you're not going to walk far.So here you are in an area reminiscent of Coney Island on July 4th .This year however the hammer really fell ,as I approached the Beach Club ,it's gone ,you look up and see a moonscape ,mounds of dirt ,earth moving equipment ,lots of noise ,whistles and more noise .Before you had maybe 150 parking places 3 mins to the beach ,now you have maybe 30 .The parking lots is shaped like a horseshoe ,the left part has maybe 15 parking spaces ,2 handicap and 3 do not part spaces that sit there wasted .It is now over 100 yards to the beach carry everything you need for a nice day .However there are more spaces at the right of the horseshoe ,but no access directly to the beach .You must now go around the both sides of the horseshoe about 225 yards to get to the sand ,maybe 20-25 minutes walk .And there are literally too few parking spaces even in off season,which is when I now come mid September & October .There is a large drawing of what the place will look like next summer .It is a monstrosity , I hear that there will be an event area on the second floor ,which will add to the parking misery .If I know Sea Pines which is spending all this money they will find a way to recoup their money quickly ,maybe charging for parking or you must rent directly from Sea Pines where you pay through the nose ,it also probably means that if you rent from local agencies you might not be able to get to the beach or must pay a fee to get to the beach,Incredible? not really ,if you rent a villa for $4000 a week you can't get past the gate to get to your villa unless you buy a tag . If you want to go to Hilton Head Island I would not stay at Sea Pines ,I'd now go to Palmetto Dunes or Shipyard .As a friend who had gone to HHI for 20 years ,"they don't want you anymore,just your money and they scheme how little they will have to give you for it" He is on his 4th year at Palmetto Dunes .The Plantation Club a golf course their buildings are in construction ,the Harbour Town Tennis pro shop is in it's 13th year in a leaky trailer .It saddens me this was once paradise for my family ,it's now turning to hell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sea Pines. There was plenty to do especially for a family with young children such as ours. The property is just beautiful with huge trees, the ocean and a picturesque harbour with a lighthouse. Our only complaint was that our town home was not as clean as we would have liked when we checked in. There was sand from the beach on the floors. When we told the front desk they quickly sent a cleaning lady to redo the home. Overall a wonderful family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seymour, tn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the first time we have taken our dogs on vacation and this place was perfect for the whole family. There is something for everyone. We reserved our pet friendly condo through Vrbo.com and got great rates and a homey feel. We loved the miles and miles of bike trails, the family feel, and dog friendly beaches. Dogs are allowed before 10 or after 5. The kids loved the area too. It was a short bike ride to the beach which made it part of the adventure for our 12 and 14 year olds. There is also a shuttle if you prefer. There are nice public showers at the beach and a nice open air restaurant which also allows your four legged friends. Hilton Head was a fun trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Address: 32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.