We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Pines Lodge!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Sea Pines Resort
32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sea Pines Lodge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the lodge at sea Pines and unlike the previous review by Loanhead, we were very happy with all aspects of our stay. The lodge was definitely 5 star. Our room looked out onto the first tee of the Harbourtown Golf course and was absolutely beautiful! the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the complimentary breakfast was very nice with the usual continental breakfast items as well as made to order omletes. We also enjoyed the unlimited use of the many bicycles available, the island is very safe and easy to ride. The lodge is an easy 5 minute walk to the harbor where there are many shops, bars with live music and shops. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
51
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First and foremost, SeaPInes is a well thought out and planned gated community with special emphasis on protecting the environment & preserving natural resources. Charles Fraser, founder of The Sea Pines Resort, was a true pioneer who was passionate about preserving and conserving the environment and to this day the resort strives to continue his love, vision and spirit of innovation. (and many accolades and awards are testimony to this)

People buy property or decide to vacation in SeaPines for a beauty & vision not found in the more crowded, commercialized vacation destinations...but, most important....security. you want find massive high-rise buildings, over-crowded waterparks or flashy neon "shell" signs. I would classify it as laid-back. I have heard a few complaints about the "entrance fee" for non-owners or guests. Yes, there is a $5.00 fee to enter (car or bike) if you are not an owner or guest. This fee helps to pay for the beautiful landscaping, pathways, facility maintenance and to handle extra traffic that occurs from those just passing through. (which is fine...but does create extra traffic not only for cars, but bikes on the path)

If you are offended to pay this pass, my suggestion would be to immerse yourself and STAY within the resort. Staying as a guest within SeaPInes is a completely different "feel" than simply passing through. When you become a guest of Seapines you are provided with accommodations & treatment that are world class. Some areas I would agree are getting older and need updating...but anywhere we have stayed has always been clean and well-kept and staff at the Sea Pines Resort office or top. (& I think the office is fair in basing rental prices on how up-to-date accomdations are) The Seapines Resort office will treat you the same as they would The Trumps. They rolled out the red carpet and gave us our monies worth. If you decide to stay and play, it is a place where you can meander along beautifully preserved paths and nature reserves, leave your car unlocked and walk the greenways or beach after dark.

If you are looking for a Desitn or Myrtle Beach knock-off...you will not find it on Sea Pines. Just know before you go. If you can understand and appreciate this, you will not be disappointed. Its a beautiful (NATURAL :) place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week at the Sea Pines Resort at the end of a road trip down the Carolina coast from Washington DC. We thought that this was going to be a 5* resort but were very disappointed and could have rented a much nicer house with private pool for the same money we paid for a 2 bed condo at Sea Pines. The Welcome Centre was very smart and the staff polite and efficient so all looked promising. Pulling up outside our accommodation we had that sinking feeling that all was not well. We booked through an agent and were allocated our accommodation by the resort and not through personal choice. I did contact Sea Pines prior to our arrival; they replied promptly and were most helpful. I asked to be in walking distance of the beach with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. What we got was a condo in an area called The Plantation Club, an ugly and unappealing 4-story block.
To be fair the condo was well furnished and well appointed by the owners. The kitchen was particularly well set up for self catering but there was nothing in the cupboards, not even salt and pepper. The blue silk bedspread in the master bedroom looked lovely but had a nasty off putting stain and there was hair and sand in all the corners and thick dust on the air vents and edges and ledges. We moved one of the sofas to retrieve a pen and it was obvious it had not been moved or cleaned under in a long time. Making one of the beds we found a lost sock behind it along with hairballs. The master bath was like the black hole of Calcutta. When you closed the shower curtain it was so dark you couldn’t see a thing. The ceiling was cracked and the whole room was in need of updating.
On arrival the shower in the master bath did not work so we called for assistance. Maintenance staff arrived very promptly and quickly solved the problem which was impressive. We asked about other properties as I would have considered asking to be moved. However the message seemed to be that we were in one of the ‘better’ rental properties so we decided to stay where we were and went out to buy bleach and rubber gloves.
Our condo was well set up by the owners but the building was dated and badly cleaned and maintained by the property managers.
On the plus side the Sea Pines Resort has a good beach, golf courses, riding stables, activities for children, bikes for hire and miles of cycle track, tennis courts, a choice of swimming pools and a variety of restaurants all on the resort. In keeping with its environmental ethos, there is almost no lighting or signage so it would be almost impossible to find your way around if you arrived after dark.
We were there at the very end of August and over Labour Day and it was clear that the ‘season’ was over. On the up side it meant that we were always able to park at the beach, did not have to book in the restaurants and had the cycle paths almost to ourselves. The downside was that by lunchtime on Labour Day we were almost the only customers so atmosphere was lacking.
We travelled as a family with 2 older daughters, 18 and 21. There were no young people of their age, all other guests were either retired or had young children. Properties for sale on the resort were in the millions of dollars as were the yachts in the marina at Harbour Town. I can see the appeal for families with young children though prices for all activities were high except for the bike rental.
We found plenty to see and do in the area and enjoyed the resort but would probably not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Sea Pines Resort and for sharing your comments.

The Sea Pines Resort, celebrated as a top vacation destination for guests of all ages, annually attracts thousands of visitors who enjoy the resort’s scenic beauty, relaxing atmosphere, miles of pristine beaches, excellent dining options, vast array of watersports, Eco-Adventures and other recreational activities, as well as its wide selection of outstanding accommodations.

In addition to being able to choose from more than 400 vacation rental homes and villas, guests of The Sea Pines Resort can stay in the resort’s luxurious, highly acclaimed Inn at Harbour Town, which offers countless amenities, including personal 24-hour butler service.

The Sea Pines Resort takes guest satisfaction very seriously and, had we been informed of your concerns, we would have been pleased to immediately remedy the situation to ensure you enjoyed the experience typically enjoyed by our valued guests.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope you will include The Sea Pines Resort among your future vacation plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Resort is on a nice piece of land and their golf course looks nice, however now we have a new name for " really bad," we call it "Sea Pines." We had to go to a family reunion and discovered the worse beaches and worse restaurants in the world... ever! Standard and simple rules! And you feel trapped in many ways...once you are there, it takes 20 to 30 minutes to get to restaurants outside the Resort. We were bored as the atmosphere is more of the same and offers very simple entertaining. Sea pines Resort became the new Yikes!!; Our kids imagine Sea Pines Resort under the bed...Ever since we experienced Sea Pines Resort we make the kids eat by threatening to take them there again if they don't eat or if they don't do the homework.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this resort for the fourth straight year, this time during the 4th of July week. What a pleasureable experience. It was obviously much more crowded than during non-4th weeks we had been there before, but the Sea Pines Beach Club Beach was still very pleasant and familty-oriented. The condo in Harbour Town was dated, but it was clean and pleasantly decorated with everything functional. Check-in and check-out was easy and professional. The fireworks show on the 4th was great....not just the display but the location just off the 18th green of the HT Golf Links. Gregg Russell entertained the kids wonderfully, and he has enough clean adult humour to make it enjoyable for the parents. Overall, I highly recommend this for families with young children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Hilton Head. We stayed at the Sea Pines Resort. Our Butler's name was Samantha Moore. What a gem she was. She took good care of us. She made our reservations for us and told us the what to do's for fun. Our room was beautiful. We were on the top floor over looking the first and ninth hole of the golf course. Very well manicured. Bed was very comfy. Room was really quiet too. We sat out on our deck at night and just relaxed. If you want to go to the beach you can take a shuttle for free. Dining and shopping are within walking distance. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Top floor to see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just returned from a marvelous week's vacation in hiltonhead island. It is a very large resort, encompassing an inn, individual condos and villas, 3 golf courses, a raquet club, multiple swimming pools and a beach club. We rented a 3-bedroom villa in heritage villas location which was just adjacent to the sea pines racquet club. We vacationed with our 3 college age sons. My wife and I played tennis every morning on beautifully maintained clay courts. There are plenty of courts so there was never any problem reserving. Best of all, the cost of tennis was included in our "escape package". We rented beach cruisers for the week, and rode to the beach and on the beach every day. We enjoyed the sea pines beach club where you could have dinner, drinks and enjoy live music overlooking the ocean. The condo itself was very nice and spacious. More than enough room for a family of 5. Only criticism was, no beach towels and the kitchen was not stocked with basic condiments. My sons played golf one day on the sea pines ocean course. Very reasonable green fees and courteous staff.
This was our first visit to the island, but I certainly plan on returning and will plan to stay at sea pines. We were very impressed with the beauty of the island and with the sea pines resort and staff. Overall this was a wonderful relaxing vacation enjoyed by all of us. If you plan on going to Hilton head, stay at sea pines. You will not be sorry.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Address: 32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.