We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punishment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Sea Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Pines Resort
32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Merida, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Punishment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Resort is on a nice piece of land and their golf course looks nice, however now we have a new name for " really bad," we call it "Sea Pines." We had to go to a family reunion and discovered the worse beaches and worse restaurants in the world... ever! Standard and simple rules! And you feel trapped in many ways...once you are there, it takes 20 to 30 minutes to get to restaurants outside the Resort. We were bored as the atmosphere is more of the same and offers very simple entertaining. Sea pines Resort became the new Yikes!!; Our kids imagine Sea Pines Resort under the bed...Ever since we experienced Sea Pines Resort we make the kids eat by threatening to take them there again if they don't eat or if they don't do the homework.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
35
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this resort for the fourth straight year, this time during the 4th of July week. What a pleasureable experience. It was obviously much more crowded than during non-4th weeks we had been there before, but the Sea Pines Beach Club Beach was still very pleasant and familty-oriented. The condo in Harbour Town was dated, but it was clean and pleasantly decorated with everything functional. Check-in and check-out was easy and professional. The fireworks show on the 4th was great....not just the display but the location just off the 18th green of the HT Golf Links. Gregg Russell entertained the kids wonderfully, and he has enough clean adult humour to make it enjoyable for the parents. Overall, I highly recommend this for families with young children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Hilton Head. We stayed at the Sea Pines Resort. Our Butler's name was Samantha Moore. What a gem she was. She took good care of us. She made our reservations for us and told us the what to do's for fun. Our room was beautiful. We were on the top floor over looking the first and ninth hole of the golf course. Very well manicured. Bed was very comfy. Room was really quiet too. We sat out on our deck at night and just relaxed. If you want to go to the beach you can take a shuttle for free. Dining and shopping are within walking distance. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Top floor to see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We just returned from a marvelous week's vacation in hiltonhead island. It is a very large resort, encompassing an inn, individual condos and villas, 3 golf courses, a raquet club, multiple swimming pools and a beach club. We rented a 3-bedroom villa in heritage villas location which was just adjacent to the sea pines racquet club. We vacationed with our 3 college age sons. My wife and I played tennis every morning on beautifully maintained clay courts. There are plenty of courts so there was never any problem reserving. Best of all, the cost of tennis was included in our "escape package". We rented beach cruisers for the week, and rode to the beach and on the beach every day. We enjoyed the sea pines beach club where you could have dinner, drinks and enjoy live music overlooking the ocean. The condo itself was very nice and spacious. More than enough room for a family of 5. Only criticism was, no beach towels and the kitchen was not stocked with basic condiments. My sons played golf one day on the sea pines ocean course. Very reasonable green fees and courteous staff.
This was our first visit to the island, but I certainly plan on returning and will plan to stay at sea pines. We were very impressed with the beauty of the island and with the sea pines resort and staff. Overall this was a wonderful relaxing vacation enjoyed by all of us. If you plan on going to Hilton head, stay at sea pines. You will not be sorry.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed in Sea Pines Resort for 4 nights in March.The property is gorgeous and their service left me speechless. I have never witnessed so much grandeur & hospitality beyond imagination in one place. The staff makes your visit from the minute you arrive, to the second you leave, memorable. Its a dream come true venue for Golfer's as you will find one of the worlds most beautiful golf courses in Hilton Head Island.

The room amenities were of exceptional quality. The only thing that i missed was Halal food. Which can be a troublesome if you are a Muslim and happen to visit Hilton Head. Halal food and tremendous shortage of mosques can be a limiting factor in these places.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We've been traveling to Hilton Head with extended family for almost 40 years and it is just the best. The beaches are wide and accessible, the sand is packed enough to ride bike on, there is, of course, golfing and tennis for all. We love the South Beach area for its quiet bike paths and fun marina with its famous Salty Dog Cafe. We always rent bikes to get around and have been there in all 4 seasons of the year at one point or another. Many great family memories were born here. We'll be back this spring.

Room Tip: Look for Land's End as your destination and then check with one of the many realty companies in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful stay, this hotel is the place. The rooms are fabulous - beautiful and tastefully decorated. I opted for the one that overlooked the golf course and the view was breathtaking.

But it is not just the rooms, the lobby area and the outdoor spaces are just as inviting. One morning, I sat downstairs in the living area with the fireplace and read a book. Later that day, I sat in a rocker on the back porch.

Many times you go to a place and think, "was this worth the money?" With this place, I left there with no question. It was.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Address: 32 Greenwood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Specialty lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel, Harbour Town Yacht Basin, three championship golf courses, world-class tennis, superb dining and shopping, five miles of pristine beach, a forest preserve, a 15-mile network of leisure paths, watersports, Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.