We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Local Flair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steamers Seafood Company

Steamers Seafood Company
1 N. Forest Beach Dr. # 28, Coligny Plaza, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-785-2070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
The Forks, Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Local Flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recommended by staff at local hotel, this place was where locals go. Only complaint was all beer was bottled - no draft beers but they had a huge selection. I always try the local and it didn't disappoint. Palmetto Amber....yum! Also had the "She-Crab" soup and that was delicious. A little off the beaten path but worth looking for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    145
    74
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Becoming one of our regular visits.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is just a cool place. Food is always good. Portions are large and the beer list is awesome! We take the kids and they love it too. Never had a bad entree there and always leave feeling stuffed, and for less money than most places. Plus, Coligny has many things to do afterwards.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food is average and the price is high. Disappointed in cost of meal for quality of food. Love the Framboise though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch - good beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Looking for simple but good seafood, we gave Steamers a try. It looked promising upon entry. Lots of Kentucky college stuff on the walls was explained by the fact that the guy who started the place in 1991 was from KY. We found exactly what we wanted. An oyster basket and shrimp basket - both priced at $9 each - with a bowl of gumbo to start. The shrimp basket was full of shrimp - smaller pieces, but 15 of them! The oysters were fewer but large and very tasty. All were cooked just right with a breading that didn't distract from the seafood taste. The gumbo was good, but nothing to rave about.

The other attractive element was a list of beers from around the world and nation. They said 300 beers. The list included plenty of well-known beers, but also lots of small micros that I had not seen before. And they were all reasonably priced.

Nice place. Glad we happened upon it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We went back to Steamer's and really had a great lunch. The variety was good as two in our party did not want seafood. I had a hard time choosing between the oysters and the crab cake. I picked the crab cake and it was better than expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamers Seafood Company also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Steamers Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamers Seafood Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.