We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crazy Crab (Jarvis Creek)

The Crazy Crab (Jarvis Creek)
104 William Hilton Pkwy, Hwy 278, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-681-5021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Family Fare, American, Fish & Chips, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Crazy Crab provides a spectacular waterfront dining experience overlooking beautiful Jarvis Creek. Our menu is derived from Low Country recipes, and each entree is individually prepared to order. Our Alaskan Snow Crab Legs are the best on the island - winning local awards for multiple years. We provide entertainment for the whole family with an onsite playground, the largest salt water fish tank on Hilton Head, live music and crab races during the summer, and a perfect view of breathtaking Low Country sunsets. We have both indoor and outdoor seating on our expansive deck and are pet friendly. The Crazy Crab at Jarvis Creek is perfect for your rehearsal dinner or private party. During non-peak times of the year, a part of the restaurant can be curtained-off for your private event, seating up to 80 individuals. The covered outside deck area can seat almost 100 guests with an outdoor bar area and options for private oyster roasts or Low Country boils. Come visit us and see why we have been a local favorite for over 30 years!
Clarkesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We went with a friend who is a regular and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was good and the food was great. Family friendly and great views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    211
    131
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Great seafood. Seated right away even for a busy night. Good family restaurant. Will return next time we vacation on HHI.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always visit The Crazy Crab for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My family and I have been dining at the Crazy Crab for years...We visit Hilton Head every year and always set aside one night for Crazy Crab. The food is outstanding...the broiled seafood platter is a favorite among us and my cousin goes crazy over the crab legs. Shrimp and scallops are some of the best I've ever had. Our servers are always friendly and do a great job when we come in with a HUGE crowd of family and friends. The only bad experience was the Sunday evening we chose to go and the air conditioning was OUT and I was pregnant...in the middle of summer...wow! The food was still excellent and everyone had a great time. Will always return!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
1 review
“A great experience with a larger party.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Crazy Crab is one of our "standards" when we visit HHI. We have dined there many times in the past several years. My family arrived at about 5:00 on a Tuesday and since most of our party hadn't arrived yet, my wife and I had a happy hour margarita in the bar. It was a good pour and quite good for $4. When the remainder of our party of 11 arrived we were immediately seated. Our waiter, Scott, greeted us and took our drink orders. He then returned and explained the specials and prices. Our beverages arrived and we made our food orders. Scott was very knowledgeable about the menu and offerings and made good suggestions. Substitutions were encouraged if anyone wanted to. Baskets of hush puppies and rolls arrived while the entrees were prepared. Many of us went with the fried seafood platter and they were standard combinations of shrimp, scallops, crab cake, oysters, and fish. Entrees arrived very quickly. They were properly prepared and very tasty. Some had broiled entrees, boiled entrees, and at least 1 chicken entree. Everyone in the party agreed the food was quite good and the service very attentive and efficient. The only ding was that 2 dinner salads didn't arrive before the entrees and were brought after the fact. Prices are average for HHI, about $100 for my family of 4. All in all, our entire party had a good experience at the Crazy Crab.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great shrimp, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The shrimp salad was great, although next time I'll give a pass to the lobster. My husband had fried shrimp and, as usual, loved every bite. The server seemed to be a little overwhelmed, leaving us waiting for more water and then the check. Not sure if they were short-staffed today or what. I did notice the hostess helping bring extras to other tables and one time even helping the bus boy clear a table. We were at a lovely corner table by the water and really enjoyed the view. At 92* it was just too hot to dine outside. All in all a lovely meal; but next time I'll stick to the shrimp salad by itself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crazy Crab (Jarvis Creek) also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Crazy Crab (Jarvis Creek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crazy Crab (Jarvis Creek), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.