We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty Dog HHI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salty Dog Cafe

Salty Dog Cafe
232 S Sea Pines Dr #301, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4040
+1 843-363-2198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
california
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Salty Dog HHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful chowder, shrimp po-boy, and burgers, great value, and service, although the place can seem a little crazy at times. Can't go wrong here! Scenic location! Don't forget your tourist tee!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    386
    236
    67
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great ambience and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very popular destination for tourists on the island. The wait time for dinner can be over an hour. The service is good and the food is excellent. There are a lot activities one can do even the wait is long.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Salty Dog Good for the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a good vacation spot for the family. Sit outside and enjoy the beach feel. The food is okay and pricey - but is just what you expect for vacation. I did really enjoy the Margarita on the rocks and the beer selection is also pretty good. They have a kids menu that is a full activities book. My guys enjoyed it. We were staying in Sea Pines and took the bikes to lunch. The location also has fun boutiques, parrots and ice cream. Plus a playground.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“salty dog cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we love eating at the salty dog cafe. each time we visit hilton head, this is one of our favorite places. the food is excellent and the staff is super friendly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at 11:30 am, no wait. Food was excellent. I had a shrimp salad, others had the daily special ,which was very good Waitress kept our drinks filled. Food came on time. Atmosphere is grand. Would go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salty Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.