We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday’s clientele reflects affluence and civility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fort Pub

Old Fort Pub
65 Skull Creek Dr, North End, Hilton Head, SC 29926-1305
+1 843-681-2386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fort Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression". Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,512 reviews 1,512 reviews
1,016 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
3,030 helpful votes 3,030 helpful votes
“Sunday’s clientele reflects affluence and civility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are reluctant to review a second time; however, Old Fort Pub must rate five stars! Our November review was fantastic, and our New Year’s holiday review is even better.

Old Fort Pub serves prodigious dinners and brunches. For the demographic with disposable income, Old Fort Pub is incredible!

Both the manager and our server, Danny recalls our November visit, and Danny recites exactly that we choose the deck as well as our dining selection. Please request Danny.

We knew we would holiday over New Years at Marriott SurfWatch villas, and took care to make Sunday Brunch reservations at our favorite Hilton Head Island property, Old Fort Pub.

We are greeted as if we are locals, and five weeks annually at Marriott SurfWatch villas may qualify us as semi-residents. Danny takes care to indicate the special $22.00 Brunch, which is a soup, entrée, and wine. Mimosa is an option; however, perhaps not! Once in Sanibel, I ordered two mimosas while my wife was distracted. She returned, and observed the “orange juice” taste strange. I confessed. She countered, “what a perfect waste of freshly squeezed orange juice," and I learned.

Old Fort Pub brews coffee by the cup! We ordered a crawfish soup and a she crab soup, and joyfully shared both.

From past experiences, we understand that Old Fort Pub offers perhaps the BEST shrimp and grits in the low country, and we both ordered this entrée.

I have reserved an 11:00AM table, and we choose the interior white tablecloth table nearest to the deck. We enjoy the visit of eight dolphins leaping laps on Skull Creek as well as a few pelicans. Our brunch is a delightful two-hour experience with great Chardonnay.

We notice that nearly 60% of the men are in suits, jackets, and ties. The women have taken care to dress for an outing, and gold, diamonds, and Rolexes are in abundance.

Sunday’s clientele reflects affluence and civility, and this is exactly our dining goal on Hilton Head.

As we take our leave, my wife seeks a walking tour of Fort Mitchel, which was improvised by the Yankees during “the war of the Northern Aggression." The Yankees occupied Hilton Head during the Civil War, and I dare observe that the Yankees have occupied modern Hilton Head.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldfortpub, Manager at Old Fort Pub, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It was a pleasure having you dine with us again for brunch. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    103
    46
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Looking for haute cuisine - The Old Fort Pub is the best on HHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The chef has a resume that is envied by his peers in the entire county. His food reflects his experiences around the world and the fine restaurants where he was employed. Try the lamb, chicken, or any of the fresh caught fish. He successfully combines texture with multiple flavors in each of his dishes. Finish with any one of his desserts - they are all very satisfying. Try to time your meal to catch the sunset.

The service was excellent, we are repeat diners at The Old Fort Pub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Not a pub, but it's good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Don't be fooled by the word "pub" in the name of this place. It's a fine dining establishment. Go elsewhere for a real pub. Food, service and atmosphere are all impeccable but high prices go along with this. I'm only giving it four stars because I really was expecting a pub. If you know beforehand what this place is then it's five stars all the way.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hold the Fort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We dined at several nice restaurants during our recent stay on Hilton Head Island and Old Fort Pub is at or very near the top of them all in terms of food quality. I dined with my wife and several other folks during a business trip and everyone seemed to be totally satisfied with their meals. I indulged in the succulent Tanglewood Farms Chicken and ended with a very nice cherry creme brulee.

Several in the group ordered the pecan pie -- which I was able to sample -- and I can say that it was quite possibly the best I have ever eaten. In fact, one person in our group remarked that she was giving the restaurant a TripAdvisor rating of "5" on the pie alone!

We had a late dinner reservation and my only wish was that we were able to dine there at sunset. The restaurant sits just off the water and I'm sure the views would have been extraordinary. Don't miss this restaurant during your stay on Hilton Head!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sunsets and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Old Fort Pub is located on the banks of the Intercoastal Waterway. We went as a group of 12 to enjoy the restaurant's tasting menu. The tasting menu is a special fixed-price three- course menu that is available before 6:00 p.m..The server indicated that every effort is made to buy locally. All of the dishes were very tasty, with ingredient combinations that were unexpected and delicious. This is fine dining at its best. The sunsets make the dining experience quite special but don't wait for fine weather. Your dining experience will be enjoyable anytime. One tip- to get to the restaurant, you will have to drive through a gated community. Just let the guard at the gate know that you are going to the restaurant and you will be given a pass.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Fort Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fort Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.