We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Rate Local Fish House with a long tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson's Seafood House on the Docks

Hudson's Seafood House on the Docks
1 Hudson Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926-5302
843-681-2772
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hudson's is Hilton Head Island's oldest and most famous restaurant with 44 years of casual dining experience and featuring fresh, local seafood and spectacular views of the Inter coastal Waterway.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A First Rate Local Fish House with a long tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are on Hilton Head and want to hit the quintessential fish house with good seafood and a casual on the docks atmosphere--Hudsons is it. We hat fish fry and it was very good. The cole slaw is the pickled kind rather than with a mayonaise type sauce. It was only ok. Everything else was certainly up to par. The place looks like it has been serving forever and with the good food they serve, it will probably be there forever.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    342
    129
    57
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food AND Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went on a Friday night after searching online for a good seafood restaurant. Very glad we went. The seafood was excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly. Couldnt ask for much more. Will definitely go back on my next trip to Hilton Head.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Food is good, service excellent! Outdoor seating is right on the intra coastal, awesome! The kids had caught some crabs, all legal, and the restaurant cooked them for a very reasonable fee. It was the end of a perfect day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“best hush puppies on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The concierge sent us here and said they'd take good care of us! And boy did they! Had the corner table overlooking the water. Lovely! Manager personally greeted us at our table. We enjoyed their fried shrimp because the batter was hardly batter- like a light coating & delicious. They have the best hush puppies on the island. Hudson's is located next door to the Skull Creek Boathouse (which reminds you of a glorified Long John Silvers taste wise) so do yourself a favor and pull into Hudson's parking lot first.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a late lunch on March 12th, with 2 dozen oysters as appetizers. The gulf oysters were small so they added 4. Very tasty. The local oysters were a good size, naturally salty and delicious. I had a crab cake sandwich and my wife had an oyster po-boy. We were both pleased with our choices. Good food and friendly staff. A fine combination. James

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson's Seafood House on the Docks also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hudson's Seafood House on the Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson's Seafood House on the Docks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.