We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in 6 Days!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
76 Queen's Folly Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843 785 4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Dunes
Transit: If you are a resident/guest staying in Palmetto Dunes or Shelter Cove, the Dunes Buggy is a free transportation service available from April 1 - September 30, 8am - 9 pm, call 843.689.4222 to arrange pick-up. Some neighboring hotels also offer shuttle service.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Twice in 6 Days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

It's been quite awhile since we went to Alexander's. We were there twice in less than a week (with two different groups.) Shrimp and grits still the best, and the pecan Mahi and weiner schnitzel rate high. Others at our table had seafood collection and enjoyed it. Our server Jen was so good the first night, we requested her for our second visit. It's off season, so no crowds.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    123
    56
    26
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I wish I liked it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

The short review: The atmosphere is inviting, interesting decor, has a comfortable feel. The service is fine, no complaints. The food is overpriced. The quality, the level of cuisine is average, prices above average. We wouldn't go back.

The long review: With out of town guests we visited 3 restaurants in one week. Alexander's was the only disappointment. It isn't terrible, it's just not all that great. I can't remember what I had (that tells you something) but our entire party thought the food was mediocre and priced too high for what we got.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss Alexanders while on Hilton Head Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Alexander's Restaurant is a must do each time we go to HHI. We have been going there for many years for great food and service. This past weekend our meal there was excellent with exceptional service. My prime rib cut was wonderful with great side items. Restaurant is not too busy during winter months but reservations are necessary any other time. Try it - you'll like it!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Early dining menu was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We ate the Early dining menu, where you got to choose between house sallad and a soup for appetizer and for main course you could choose between about ten different alternatives. The portions were smaller in the Early dinner menu compared to the regular menu, but it was still enough food for us. The house sallad was just a booring green sallad with dressing and it almost would give me a reason to give this restaurant only three points. Since the main course was so good and the service was warm and friendly I still give this restaurant four points.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Early Bird is a good buy but my entree was skimpy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We have enjoyed the Early Bird Alexander's offerings in the past. The last meal was a skimpy serving. It was the puffed seafood. It was mostly pastry and delicious sauce. Where was the seafood? I found only a few bite size pieces. Quite a disappointment. On the other hand my husband's shrimp and grits was a decent portion. The view of the lagoon is lovely. We have always had excellent service.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.