We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dinner with Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
76 Queen's Folly Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843 785 4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Dunes
Transit: If you are a resident/guest staying in Palmetto Dunes or Shelter Cove, the Dunes Buggy is a free transportation service available from April 1 - September 30, 8am - 9 pm, call 843.689.4222 to arrange pick-up. Some neighboring hotels also offer shuttle service.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Delicious Dinner with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We own a home in Sea Pines in which we stay 4x's a year. Every visit we make it to Alexander's for many reason but mostly because the food can't be beaten and is always consistent. Although this last visit is my reason and first time writing a review. The food was better than ever, but our waitress Tara was Top Notch!!! She was super friendly and really knew her menu. She talked me into the Shrimp & Grits (EXCELLENT) and my husband Bernie the Salmon. We had a party of four and were treated like royalty during the early bird hours. Will be back!! Highly recommend, ask for Tara!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    123
    56
    26
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irmo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Early Bird best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Make sure you're seated between 5-5:45pm each day. This is the early bird special menu. Soup or salad plus entree for $14.99. Worth every penny! Very high quality food prepared very well. Great view of the canal around Palmetto Dunes. If you want a table by the water, make a reservation.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lagoon View at an Early Bird Dinner Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived for an early dinner to avoid the crowd. I ordered the crab cake, which was just average in my opinion, only because it appeared lump crabmeat wasn't used. But, again, it's just my opinion. It was served with mashed potatoes and crisp young green beans. My husband ordered the mixed seafood grill, which was an excellent choice. The presentation was lovely, and he ate every bite.
The early bird pricing was about $18, and we didn't have to wait in line!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Visit every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We eat here every vacation on HHI. Tonight, our server Tara was great. She was friendly and efficient. We had early bird meals, including crab cakes, seafood sampler, and stuffed grouper. The grouper wasn't a huge hit with our group, but it could be personal taste. We didn't send it back or make a complaint, just made a mental note to order differently next time. The crab bisque is good, and the peppercorn dressing is super, too. Definitely worth a try. Make reservations if you can!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“FLASH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The early bird special was incredible. Even with a rain storm out side, the view of the lagoon created a warm feeling and prepared us for a great dinning experience. There was even some wild life to entertain while we waited for our meal. Our waiter had a refreshing personality and knew the menu selections preparations. We had two different specials starting with a fresh salad that was good portion with a homemade dressing. My wife had a she crab soup that was extremely good. One entre was crab cake with steamed green beans and shredded carrots seasoned and cooked to perfection. My meal was a seafood combination, white fish, scallops, small crab cake and shrimp with steamed veggies. It was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.