We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's

Alexander's
76 Queen's Folly Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843 785 4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 322 restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Dunes
Transit: If you are a resident/guest staying in Palmetto Dunes or Shelter Cove, the Dunes Buggy is a free transportation service available from April 1 - September 30, 8am - 9 pm, call 843.689.4222 to arrange pick-up. Some neighboring hotels also offer shuttle service.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We selected this restaurant because it was recommended by a friend. The meal was excellent. The perfectly cooked filet mignon topped with crab meat was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. The staff was very prompt and professional and the manager came by and checked on us during the meal. My girlfriend loved the huge wine menu. A++++ service and food. We will definitely be back to visit. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.---LW

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    364
    102
    52
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

WE had an average meal with lousy ambiance. We were not seated in the main dining room. We were in the bar area where we could see the tv on a sports channel and the wait staff congregate and talk to each other. WE could have been seated in the kitchen for all the difference it would have made.A group of 6 men who had obviously been drinking were seated in this small 5 table area where they annoyed all the diners. My shrimp cocktail was average. My husband liked his seafood chowder. Our meals were fine but average. Our bill was very expensive for this type of experience. I could have gone to a sports bar and grill for a meal that would have been less money and just as good.We have dined here before and this was a disappointment..We will not need to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My friend and I had a lovely dinner at Alexanders, which was recommended by the concierge at the Marriott for good seafood. We enjoyed a table on the patio with a view of the creek. The food was extremely good, both the perfectly cooked filet mignon and the crab stuffed shrimp. Our waitress, Michelle was excellent and very attentive. It was very convenient that the Marriott shuttle was able to take us to and from the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading many reviews about Hilton Head Early Bird Specials we opted for
for Alexander's this evening, we chose the right one.
The dining room with its white linens and vaulted ceiling were just the
start of our eating experience there.
There were several entrees, all looked good. We chose the Crab Stuffed
Flounder and the Crab Cake. There was a choice of soup or salad and ice tea
or lemonade.
Everything was very good, the Crab Cake was delicious. The food
presentation on large white plates was more than inviting, the chef
clearly had a sense of pride and spared nothing.
Our waiter was professional and nice; we noticed all of the staff working there
were very well groomed and attentive.
We will certainly return here again for both for the early bird and regular menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Excellent Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I went out for a nice evening with great food and outstanding service. We had the Chilean SeaBass and Wiener Schnitzel. Both were excellent. We loved the wine selection as well. Our server, AJ was very professional, attentive, and knowledgeable. We will definitely come back again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Alexander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.