We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redfish

Redfish
8 Archer Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-686-3388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Redfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.
NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Someone recommended us this place and boy, did we love this place.

I had the best burger and my wife had the freshest seafood... excellent!

Order what you like and can't go wrong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    199
    74
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great outside dining!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My sister and I enjoyed a very nice dinner and glass of wine at the Redfish. We shared the Crab Cakes and Vegetable Strudel plus the Southwestern wedge salad. We sat out on their outdoor patio and had to move once as it started to rain, part of the area is roofed and we really enjoyed the outdoor dining. The salad was wonderful, crisp and tasty. The crabcakes were good, I actually prefer lump crabmeat in those and these were shredded. The vegetable strudel was very good, wrapped in a crisp phyllo and not too rich, I would order that again. All in all a very pleasurable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pugnut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice outdoor area to dine in the evening with heat lamps but that was probably the best part. Food was only OK-the black bean soup was overly salty and the edamame hummus was just a bad idea. I love hummus and edamame but this had an unappetizing texture and flavor, something was just off about it. Calamari was bland (little seasoning in the coating would help) and the sauce served with it didn't work. Mojito was pretty good but I don't think we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Post Half Marathon Dinner Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I found the following most noteworthy about Red Fish, Hilton Head: Winner of 2008 Taste of the Season!Voted by the Readers of Hilton Head Monthly Magazine *Best Wine Selection! (2008 & 09)*Favorite Restaurant for Lunch! (2008 & 09)*Favorite Restaurant for Burgers! (2008)*Favorite Caterer (2008)
Boasting of over 1,300 wines, My friends and I finished the Savannah Half Marathon 2013 and decided to dive in with Red Fish. We left Savannah that Saturday afternoon due to room rates being elevated to near $400. Only 46 miles away was Hilton Head Island where we decided to stay for the night. Searching for a nice place to dine, with very large appetites, we came across Red Fish on the internet. The urban casual but upscale restaurant had a wonderful cuisine menu offering varieties of low country meals, seafood, steaks and a wet-your-appetite assortment of appetizers. I had the scallops with asparagus which were spicy and juicy and delicious. We all shared the crab dip and bread which came with a wonderfully unique dip made with lemon juice, cilantro, onion, olive oil, garlic. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Hilton Head any time soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Took my parents there recently on a trip to visit them. Outstanding service and quality. I had a sea bass cooked with a glaze with wasabi sauce on the side that was to die for, full of flavors on a bed of kale with hush puppies. None of it tasted as if it was prepared ahead of time, all hot and fresh tasting. Everything was good. Service was attentive with out being obtrusive, friendly without being fake and unctuous. A great bottle of Conundrum for $40. Wii be back if in Hilton Head again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redfish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Redfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.