We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal in HHI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redfish

Redfish
8 Archer Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-686-3388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Redfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 319 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent meal in HHI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Redfish is a local, upscale restaurant in HHI. My husband and I both had the blackened grouper and the delicious side dishes that came with it. We have eaten at Redfish several times and have never been disappointed. Our server, Whitney, was knowledgeable, friendly and very efficient. Kudos Redfish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    214
    81
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a wonderful dinner. The Grouper special was prepared nicely. Jimmy, our server was great. He was very attentive and made us feel like the only ones in the restaurant! Definitely a must do if you've never been before!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Redfish was wonderful from start to finish. The atmosphere is classy but not to the extent that those were dressed casually feel out of place. Our server, Becky, was attentive and courteous. Our food, was the delectable! The lobster and shrimp Cajun burger was out of this world! Worth every single cent. My sister in law's ribs were fall off the bone tender and, had a sauce that further enhanced the already perfect truffle fries. The special, grouper, was moist and flavorful. We will definitely come back next year. A new favorite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Keep the noise down!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my first time at RF. Had I known - there are five dining areas. The main dining room to the right of the entrance is VERY noisy. I mean really noisy! Yes, it was packed. Now you know! Next to the main dining room is an area with a wall and some glass partitions hanging from the ceiling. I would think this area has less noise but it is a much smaller space. The dining area in front of the main entrance, with all the wine bottles seems very nice but with only a few tables. If you want quiet this is the place. To the left of the entrance is a smaller room that is in the kitchen area. This is a little quieter. There is outside dining which is on the front porch outside the main entrance. The main dining room was so loud!

Food was ok! Service was fine based on the crowd. Would not rush back! I have to question some of the highly rated reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our server Paul and manager Monica were great. Our family makes our annual visit to Redfish the highlight of our Hilton Head dining and this time was no different. Personable service with a smile, great food in a very nice decor. Fish was just the right temperature, seasoning was wonderful, wine reasonable.
We'll be back next summer and hopefully before.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redfish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Redfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.