We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fine Dining Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redfish

Redfish
8 Archer Road, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-686-3388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Redfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Fine Dining Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love Redfish. Great place to celebrate a special occasion. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for some good food and wine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    199
    73
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good food, service and atmosphere. There is better , more creative food on the island but it is a very good fish/seafood restaurant. The spring rolls, beet and fried goat cheese salad, black bean soup and scallops with mac and cheese were all wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We come back again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been coming to HHI since 1981. Growing up and seeing good places come and go on the island, I never know what to expect from year to year upon my return (often saddened when favorites have closed!). Several years ago, my wife and I stumbled upon Red Fish as a wine seller (and cellar!). We loved their incredible selection and decided to give the food a try as well. We loved it. Since then, we come back to Red Fish every time we visit the Island, and have never been disappointed. This year, my parents (married 60 years, along on our trip) watched our kids so we could go to Red Fish for a nice evening out. Once again, we were greeted with excellent service, wine and food. Just an amazingly pleasing experience. I always recommend this place to friends, but still feel like it is "our place" when we come down. And of course, I am pleased that Red Fish continues to do well, and is here every year we return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
“Great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have not been back on the Island in several years and thought we would try a favorite tonite-Redfish.
It did not disappoint! Had the Sea Bass with a great wasabi (lightly seasoned) sauce -very good-
Service was spot-on with a gentleman named Trey; very attentive, knowledgable on the menu and the wine listing. Yes, we will be back.
Again a great evening, oh yes, try the blueberry tart with peach gelato- also very well done--
Tks-

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
“Red Fish is Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We come to the Island every year and make a stop at Red Fish ever since our first meal there several years ago. The food is fantastic, the service excellent and the atmosphere friendly and inviting. I had the grouper special and my husband had the strip steak. The grouper was soooo delicious and the steak was cooked to perfection as requested. Compliments to the chef! Our server was Nicole and she was extremely friendly and efficient. We look forward to our trip next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redfish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Redfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.