We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Trails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Bike Trails

Hilton Head Island Bike Trails
1 Chamber of Commerce Drive, PO Box 5647, Hilton Head, SC 29938
(800) 523-3373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 164 Activities in Hilton Head
Type: Sports
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

There are many trails to ride on the island. We went on both the beach and the paved trails in the plantation. Well maintained, and riding on the beach was great! Only disappointment, was that you could not ride through Sea Pines Plantation. We rode over and were prepared to pay to get in, but were told it is not allowed. You must be staying at Sea Pines in order to ride bikes there. Otherwise, I highly suggest renting bikes - simple to do- they drop them off and pick them up for you when you leacve

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    52
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Bikers paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

HHI is a bikers paradise with easy access to beaches, shopping, lodging, food and entertainment. The island is flat - no hills to climb or go "wheeee" down. We liked that we had a better view of the island when traveling on a bicycle than in a car. The seats are standard - would have loved to have had a gel seat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Best biking we have ever done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We come to Hilton Head for many reasons, one being for sure is the enormous amount of bike trails that wind around the island. It is extremely easy biking and relaxing. You can go more miles and miles and then bike right on the sand of the beach. If you want to race and go fast, these trails aren't for you. There are many low hanging trees and it is dark with all the tree branches. Each plantation has there special trails but we love it all

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A special part of our Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We are a flat barrier Island so biking is easy … Traffic … No problem … Our bike paths are for the most part "away" from the road ways. One can bike from end to end of HHI and visit dozens of restaurants, hundreds of shops, parks beaches and Oh, our beaches are hard and flat and you can bike on them.

I only ask that you don't text or talk on your cell phone while biking … Yes I see that everyday by our "guests".

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Riding ON the beach and on the many trails throughout the island was one of the most pleasant and relaxing times we had on HHI. The several bike rental establishments on the island will drop off/ pick up your bike- and weekly rental was reasonable, only $16. per week/ pp. I tend to eat more on vacation, so the exercise was great; and after all, biking while taking in the ocean breezes sure beats sitting on a stationary bike in a stale exercise room. Enjoy the outdoors!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilton Head Island Bike Trails also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hilton Head Island Bike Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Bike Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.