We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta get bikes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Head Island Bike Trails

Hilton Head Island Bike Trails
1 Chamber of Commerce Drive, PO Box 5647, Hilton Head, SC 29938
(800) 523-3373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 things to do in Hilton Head
Attraction details
Valley NS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gotta get bikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've been coming to HH for 17 years and one of the most enjoyable things we do is rent bikes and ride all over the place
We go to bars on them
We go to restaurants on them
We go for leisure rides on the beaches which is so calming
The paved trails are a gem that shouldn't be taken for granted

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    65
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Trails are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The trails are great. We loved the access they give you to the island. Just make sure you pay attention. During the busy time the trails can be dangerous with all the people who don't pay attention.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All shaded. Must watch for cars though.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Did not dislike the trails at all. Loved them.Biked all day. Biked to dinner and lunch. Plenty of bike racks located around HiltonHeaD
BIKE.rACKS IN THE NUMEROUS SHOPPING CENTERS YOU CAN EXPLORE TO REGAIN YOUR WALKING LEGS FOR A BIT.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent biking trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of my favorite draws of Hilton Head is the biking paths. They are all over the Island. I love Sea Pines. The paths pass by ponds, beautiful foliage, turtles, alligators, birds etc. It is very flat so the riding is easy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Head to Hilton Head; The Bike Trails are Nonpareil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are blessed to own property on Hilton Head Island and spend time there at various times of the year. Gasp, we are not golfers but we are runners and bikers. I will always remember a friend telling me years ago that she and her husband loved the island for the biking. As a first time visitor, I didn't know quite what to expect but when we arrived in 2004 we were in bike Paradise.

We live on Arrow Road and there is a wonderful path right outside the front gate of our motorcoach resort. We bike safely every day on smooth blacktop through fragrant pine, views of the lovely homes in Wexford Plantation, through the Bristol Sports Arena with its phenomenal recreation opportunities and down to Palmetto Bay Marina. There are restaurants, shopping, and watersport activities available at the Marina. If you like pine cones, you will be stopping every few feet to scoop up large flat-bottomed cones on this particular path.

My husband is a long distance runner and has his regular route. I do not fear for his well-being since the bike paths provide a safe place to run far from the ever-increasing traffic. Nor do dogs pose a threat since most owners obey the leash law and have control. That's not to say you will have clear sailing: we've been stopped by turtles crossing the path.

The Town of Hilton Head has made a concerted effort to connect the entire island with bike trails and they are succeeding admirably. In the early days, we biked ONCE from Arrow Road down Pope Avenue to Coligny. That was it. The 'bike path' was no more than a narrow width of blacktop on the road. You took your life in your hands. Every time we return to Paradise, we are happy to see more and more bike paths set well off from the road and sturdily constructed of treated wood with railings.

We have an annual tradition of riding on the beach from Coligny to the end of the end of the island on New Year's morning. You can imagine that we have the place nearly to ourselves plus a few energetic happy dogs who are free to run the beach at this time of the year.

There are lots and lots of bike rental companies. Check out the free "Island Events" and "What's Happening" booklets for coupons on rentals.

If you've never biked or visited Hilton Head Island, make this your next vacation destination. Just please be on turtle watch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilton Head Island Bike Trails also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hilton Head Island Bike Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Head Island Bike Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.