We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Desert Painted Soup!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Cafe

Santa Fe Cafe
807 William Hilton Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-785-3838
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Santa Fe Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We bring the very best of Southwestern culture and cuisine home to the Lowcountry. Our menu has been an Islanders" preferred dining spot for over 20 years and with dishes like our famous grouper, to our bone-in cowboy cut black angus ribeye, our outrageous chimichanga to even lobster fajitas, we're sure to have a new favorite waiting for you. From the sounds of the live Ranchero guitar player to the smells rising from our mesquite grill, Santa Fe Cafe is a much welcomed reprieve for the senses. Even when you're outside underneath the stars on our Rooftop Cantina, we've got you covered.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the Desert Painted Soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The desert painted soup is as good as it was 15 years ago..,, and their haberno BBQ is the BEST! and for some on your tacos. Don't miss the upstairs roof deck with live music...lots better ambiance than downstairs.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    109
    42
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were guided to this restaurant by our hotel clerk, and did not realize until we arrived that we had eaten there previously a few years before. It is a New Mexico style restaurant, but it lacks many of the more complex menu items you would expect. The entrees are overpriced in my opinion, and the quality is not exceptional. The salsa was very bland, resembling stewed tomatoes. I realize that this is an island far from the Southwest, but they could certainly improve on the food aspect. There is rooftop dining available, but was not offered to us either time (it may be seasonal). The restaurant's decor is very nice and our waitress was friendly. The crowd had many locals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Always great-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Always great-Love the upstairs, outdoor seating and the salsa and margaritas are excellent. Also enjoy the bar seating.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were looking for a place with veggie options so we decided that a southwest restaurant would have something. While there were no items on the menu, they were quite accommodating and the food they whipped up was delicious. My daughter and I had a quesadilla and it tasted fresh and wasn't a typical greasy quesadilla from your average Mexican place. My husband had a veggie burrito and it was fantastic. We recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great southwestern food - not mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautifully appointed, great service, great food - home run! Spicy scallops dish and a spicy shrimp dish special were 5 star good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Santa Fe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.