We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stays on our list!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Oyster Factory

Old Oyster Factory
101 Marshland Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-681-6040
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Oyster Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 290 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Matthews Drive
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
“Stays on our list!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was our second trip to the restaurant and we hope to return next year. The food is fresh, cooked with taste and presentation in mind, and priced within reason for Hilton Head. Our waiter, Matt, was very attentive to us and we had no complaints. Some folks find fault with everything, but I have no reservations about suggesting Old Oyster Factory to other vacationers. Swordfish was excellent by the way!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,065
    401
    188
    67
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mainstay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Always love going to Old Oyster Factory on any visit to Hilton Head. The vistas are fantastic and the service is amazing. Try the oysters savannah if you want something heavy, or the seafood medley if you want something a little lighter. Bill was our server and he was great'n

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Old Oyster Factory is simply awesome. The food is great, the view is great and the service is great. Food pricing is about what to expect for the location but the wine prices are very reasonable compared to other places on HH Island. Do try Craig Ryan's signature cocktail, it is excellent!
Would highly recommend to anyone visiting but do book ahead, the place is absolutely hopping.
We are definitely coming back next time we are here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The food was average and way overpriced. If you are looking for a place to splurge skip this one. The Best part of our experience was the nice view but still not worth the money for our family of four.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Ate at the old oyster factory on the annual family vacation to hilton head island. As there was a long line, we sat at the bar for cocktails and food. Our server/bartender, Gretchen was fantastic. She was very attentive and knowledgable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oyster Factory also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Oyster Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Oyster Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.