We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Head's Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Oyster Factory

Old Oyster Factory
101 Marshland Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-681-6040
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Oyster Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Matthews Drive
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Head's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had a lovely dinner. I had the Cold King Shellfish Sampler and boy did it hit the spot! You can't really go wrong with any of the seafood, I have tried most of seafood dinners. The views are quite serene. I have never had any trouble with the servers, from my experience they are all quite friendly. The Old Oyster Factory has a nice wine selection. Also, their napkins are especially soft. I would absolutely recommend this spot to anyone as it is one of the best kept secrets on the Island. I eat here 3-4 times a year when I am in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    360
    174
    63
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We ate here at sunset during our Spring Break. The view is just gorgeous! My husband took advantage of the "early bird"/sunset menu. It is a GREAT value! Our waiter, Cooper, was very attentive. The fried shrimp and steak were perfect.

The food is delicious and you can't beat the hush puppies - YUM! We will definitely return on our next HHI trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, fantastic views...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had dinner at sunset at the Oyster Company after asking someone where the locals would go for dinner. That was the best time to go! The views are beautiful (we took a quick walk around the building while we waited for our table) and the food and service excellent. Our group had the key lime salmon, a seafood platter and a kids meal - all very yummy! Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Adequate food. Pleasant views if you get the right table.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hushpuppies presented to start the dining experience were less impressive than we had enjoyed at other establishments. The artichoke crab dip that we ordered as an appetizer was actually the high point of the dining experience. Truly yummy.

My special of the day, a triple broil of lobster, scallops and shrimp, arrived picture perfect but the lobster was tough, the scallops were barely above okay, and I really didn’t want to eat the shrimp as the red sauce on them was so nondescript.

A comic side note was the crow that perched on the back of a chair just outside our window. We were delighted by his beady-eyed presence, but the server explained that the crows raid the tables carrying away sugar packets. We found it funny; the server was not so amused.

Date of Visit: 20Mar14

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oof101, Manager at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Sorry to hear that your dining experience was less than perfect. We do appreciate your feedback and we will definitely address these issues to make sure your next visit is as wonderful as possible! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the crab and artichoke dip and that you enjoyed the view and the crow! We do hope that you will come back and see us so that we can make it up to you and ensure you have a wonderful evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An Overall Nice Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Old Oyster Factory was more than just eating dinner. Our table was next to a window that allowed use to view the surrounding water (and the high school rowing team). We arrived on time to enjoy the sunset menu (from 4 to 5:45pm). The menu included about 10 to 12 selections. I choose the stuffed flounder with crab which was very good while my wife had beef wellington which she also enjoyed. The restaurant was very large and popular as the bar and waiting area were filled. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oof101, Manager at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for visiting! We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything from dinner to the views and the events taking place outside! Come back and see us next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oyster Factory also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Oyster Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Oyster Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.