We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Old Oyster Factory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Oyster Factory

Old Oyster Factory
101 Marshland Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-681-6040
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Oyster Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Matthews Drive
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Love the Old Oyster Factory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We are from Pittsburgh and visit hilton head often in the fall and winter and make sure to eat at the Old Oyster Factory at least once each trip. This time, our server was Gemma and as always - the food and service were excellent. We started with our favorite - the in-house smoked salmon appetizer. For dinner, we had the local swordfish and seafood medley - they have made some changes to this dish since we last had it, and it is even better! The wine and new beer selection is great as well. Thank you Old oyster Factory for another memorable dinner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    360
    174
    63
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great hush puppies! Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently had a lovely dinner at the factory with my husband. We were not very familiar with the menu but our server was a great help! Her name was Jen and she took the time to explain everything out for us along with making some suggestions. We appreciated her help very much so we took her advice and our meal was DELICIOUS!! I had the broiled seafood medley and my husband had the almond crusted mahi mahi. We will definitely be coming back! Hopefully Jen will still be there. Also who doesn't love unlimited hush puppies!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great view. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Awesome views of marsh. Parking has a bit of a walk after 20 spots are taken. Server was nice and fast, but the kitchen was slow, especially for two rare steaks. If you only eat at one place on the water at Hilton Head, choose The Boathouse at Skull Creek over this place. The were twice as crowded and the kitchen was lighting fast. Their food was much better too. Oysters are 26 bucks a dozen, very over priced for an oyster House.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Venerable Hilton Head site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This restaurant offers lovely views of the salt marshes. The food is the usual large scale fare. Much is fried, & largely pedestrian. The oysters were the highlight of the otherwise average meal. Wait staff is quite friendly & competent & everyone is happy. This is not a bad restaurant, nor is it memorable for cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Nice Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Old Oyster Factory is a Hilton Head tradition. On this visit we had salmon over grits with garden vegetables and mahi mahi with flavored rice and garden vegetables. Prices were quite fair for a touristy place. Everybody loved their entrees. Hush puppies are included with the meal. Wait service was perfect. The servers were informative without being pushy. There are nice water views outside of the marsh. One small quibble. The restaurant is very dark. You may have difficulty reading the menu and prices. Otherwise, an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oyster Factory also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Oyster Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Oyster Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.