We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Oyster Factory

Old Oyster Factory
101 Marshland Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29926
+1 843-681-6040
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Oyster Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 320 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Matthews Drive
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A group of six of us all had great meals. Three of us had the Mai Mai and loved it and two of us have never had it before. The service was great too. Get a free salad with coupon on internet.
Will return next time to Hilton Head. Beautiful scenery out their windows with a view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    360
    173
    63
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SUPERB SEAFOOD WITH A SCENIC VIEW!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Old Oyster Factory is a beautiful seafood restaurant which has a view of the water from every seat. Open for dinner, landllubbers can enjoy steaks and chops.

I cannot say too much about the professional staff. Michael was our waiter; he gave us an appropriate description of all the various seafood dishes and some other choices too. He had a new recruit helping him, Roger. They made a good team. You did not need to ask for water or a drink refill; they were there. The service was exceptional.

We had the broiled Seafood Medley; it was fresh and delectable. Jumbo perfectly cooked scallops, fish, local shrimp, an Oysterr Rockefellar and Oyster Savannah were terrific. Save room for dessert. One of our watiers said the Chocolate Fantasia was unforgetable. A large warm chocolate chip cookie, the size of a dessert plate, encased in homemade Hilton Head Ice Cream and whipped cream adrift in a plate of chocolate sauce and almonds ranks as one of the best treats ever!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Renewed favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We'd been at the Old Oyster Factory some years ago and for whatever reason, weren't overly impressed. But, decided to give their sunset dinner menu (aka early bird specials) a try tonight. It couldn't have been nicer. Ate outside on the deck overlooking the beautiful marshes. The sald was fresh and crisp. the basket of hushpuppies were wonderful. My crabcake was just right and my wife's shrimp and grits had a uniquely delicision flavor. The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing and the server friendly, attentive, but not too much so to be bothersome. People were just enjoying dinner in a fantastic location - good vibes all around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food - Ok Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We used to eat at the Old Oyster factory every time we visited Hilton Head. However, at one point perhaps 6 or 7 years ago, we noticed a big change with the quality of service. The cost of the food didn't match the service. I don't really care how expensive a restaurant is or how good the food is, but when the service is bad - "we're gone!"

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“we won't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If we'd stopped at the hushpuppies and crab artichoke dip? we'd of been at least happy but our meals? at best cafeteria food.
The view was lovely, the service was great. the menu needs some work.
Granted we did NOT get the seafood and perhaps that was our mistake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oyster Factory also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Oyster Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Oyster Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.