We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohio State lore not only attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangiamo

Mangiamo
1107 Main St, Hilton Head, SC 29926
(843) 682-2444
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 321 restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ohio State lore not only attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are an Ohio State fan, this is a must. Locals, though, know to avoid "game days" because that is when Mangiamo's (Hilton Head Pizza Company) is their place for good pizza, excellent sandwiches, and savory Italian basics. The prices are more than reasonable by Hilton Head standards; the service staff is quite good and the owner is usually in attendance on weekday evenings. You won't recognize him as the owner, though, because he'll probably be clearing tables. In short, he is a totally involved guy and that is a big reason why Mangiamo's works for both locals and also the out-of-towners who come for the Ohio State experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    27
    34
    22
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“good pizza/italian restaurant with a buckeye flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food is good, the pizza is well done and the italian food is solid. The owners, Ohio State Buckeye fans, have decorated in an OSU decor. While we don't root for the buckeyes, we like the college football spirit along with the good food

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent calzones! Glad we made the trip to Mangiamo's. Very friendly service, awesome decor, it's the place to go if you are an Ohio State fan you must go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheaper than some places and there may be a reason.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The pizza here was just fair. Prices were less than other pizza places, but it may be because the toppings were pretty sparse. The service was also mediocre, as we waited more than once for re-fills. Not what I had hoped for.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The service and the atmosphere is really good here. We went early in the evening around 3 or 4. It wasn't crowded which was nice. But, the pizza was nothing special. We have a favorite spot in Savannah and have yet to find anything here that compares. It's not their fault, and there was nothing bad about it, it just doesn't have anything special to make me want to go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangiamo also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mangiamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangiamo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.