We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Miguel's Mexican Cafe

San Miguel's Mexican Cafe
9 Shelter Cove Lane, Hilton Head, SC 29928
843-842-4555
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 322 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: San Miguel's is located on the water in beautiful Shelter Cove Harbour.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love coming here when in HHI. We love the food. It is a little different than the Mex food we get in the Midwest. We ate outside on a beautiful evening, people watching and looking at the beautiful harbour. The entertainment that night was really good. A young,single guitar player, playing songs of Jackson Browne, Dylan, Eagles. He was really good. The food, like I said, is very good, and reasonably priced. After eating, we usually take a leisurely walk around the harbour, to kind of get the food settled, since we always over-eat. Very easy to do here as they give you endless chips and salsa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    98
    62
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Cabana to enjoy sports & good company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at Harbourside III last week with family. Stopped in almost every evening to have a few beers, relax & catch some sports. bar service was excellent and Carry was an excellent host. In addition many other travelers stopped in and the conversations were lively and very friendly. Lost my phone at the lounge and the staff was right on in ensuring that I get it back promptly. Great music each evening. Excellent Mexican food also. Beautiful view of harbor and boats. Lots of foot traffic for people watching.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived relatively "late" for off-season, after 8:30pm. Our waiter Charlie was friendly, attentive and gave us great recommendations for dinner. The salsa and chips were a nice prelude to dinner...fresh tasting salsa with just the right kick to it. We very much enjoyed our entrees, Outrageous Chimichanga & Enchiladas Acapulco! Charlie was right--order the chimichanga if you're really hungry! Charlie was quick to refill my husband's soda and had my second margarita on the table before I could ask for it. The restaurant had a good vibe and we would love to come back here during happy hour.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The food was pretty good, they had live music, and a good view of the harbor. We did outside seating and the atmosphere was great. The salsa had a great taste, but was a little too spicy for my taste. The service was really good and everyone was really friendly!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

For outstanding Mexican food at a great price, we recommend San Miguel's. We have eaten there every year for 26 years and it is always outstanding. Right on the water also. One of the highlights of our HHI trip every year.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Miguel's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to San Miguel's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Miguel's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.